BICYCLING IN VLADIVOSTOK

  • Photo: Anton Valton
  • Text: Ekaterina Shved, Aleksey Zaitsev (Look at Vladivostok)

Despite its hills, rises, and narrow walkways, Vladivostok loves bicycles. You can ride on the waterfront, cross the city from north to south or even to go to Russkiy Island the or Shamora area.

In Vladivostok, there is an active cycling community, Velodom, which is always taking new members into its ranks. There are constant excursions, joint rides, bicycle polo, bicycle quests, and other interesting events.

If you do not have a bicycle with you, you can rent one for a time from a bike rental. There are many located in different areas of the city.

THE FEFU CAMPUS

The shoreline campus of FEFU is one of the most popular vacation destinations among Vladivostok’s citizens and guests. It is the longest and the newest, and the landscape of the island allows for riding on flat roads, as well as experiencing hills and small crossings. Entrance to the FEFU campus is free for everyone, but cars must be left outside the perimeter.

Just a few minutes from the campus building is the the largest bicycle rental in Vladivostok, “Sam Sebe Velosiped.” It is located in the former School Number 5, near the Universtetskaya Naberezhnaya. There is now an extreme sports school located here called, “Tochka Prityazheniya.”

At Sam Sebe Velosiped, from April to November there are 120 different bikes: from ordinary to mountain, BMX and hydraulic. The cost to rent is 150 rubles/hour, 500 rubles/day, and 700 rubles/24 hours. Bigger bicycles (chic customs, tandems, adult tricycles, electric bicycles) cost from 250 rubles/hour. Bicycle racks can be provided for transportation convenience on long distances for 250 rubles per day, and repairs and can also be provided.

In order to rent a bicycle, a copy of proof of identity or a cash deposit of 5,000 to 7,000 rubles is needed. For any questions you can contact by phone +7 (423) 209-57-67. Sam Sebe Velosiped on campus is open on weekdays from 11:00AM to 10:00PM, and on weekends from 10:00AM to 10:00PM.

For weekends, it is advised to book bicycles in advance. Payment can be made in cash or by bankcard.

For fans of extreme sports, the school has a soft funbox (an obstacle with a foam rubber pad underneath) and a foamed rubber pit. Here bicycle lovers can work out more complex tricks, which can then be taken out onto the city’s hard streets.

Downtown area

In the city center there is a branch of Sam Sebe Velosiped located in the guest house Gallery & More (4B Fokina Street). There are five bikes, rental price per hour is 150 rubles, and per day is 800 rubles. The security deposit requires either a passport (or drivers license), or 7,500 rubles.

You can ride in the center of Vladivostok, along the waterfront of Sportivnaya Gavana, and it’s also worth riding along the first section of the Tropa Zdorovya (Path of Health) to Nevelsky MGU Stadium. In the foreseeable future, the city authorities plan to extend the Tropa Zdorovya from the Tokarev lighthouse to the Vtoraya Rechka area.

On the Sportivnaya Naberezhnaya, opposite the Olimpiyets Sports Complex, there is a ramp for extreme sports for both beginners and experienced riders. This is a solid ramp made of plywood, so its not so easy to “fly off” it. Entrance here is free at any time of the day.

TSESAREVICHA NABEREZHNAYA

The Tsesarevicha Naberezhnaya is another popular vacation spot for townspeople on bicycles. It is located on the shores of the Zolotoy Rog Bay, with stunning views of the Zolotoy Bridge. Many choose this place not only for its length, but also for its cared-for appearance.

The local bike rental has 50 bikes, including childrens. Rental of two-and three-wheeled bicycles costs 200 rubles/hour, adults 250 rubles/hour, and mountain bikes are 300 rubles/hour.

To rent a bicycle, you need to leave a document or a cash deposit (several thousand rubles, depending on the model). The rental includes protective gear: knee pads and helmets. The rental service is open from 01:00PM to 12:00PM, and may be closed in cloudy weather.

There is also a mini-ramp located on the waterfront for thrill-seekers. They start mainly in the evening, when most of the vacationers have left. Despite the apparent simplicity of the ramp, it allows for the performance of quite difficult tricks.

VTORAYA RECHKA

There are 15 bicycles in Solnishko Park (15B Borodinskaya Street) where a branch of the bicycle rental shop Sam Sebe Velosiped is also located. As a rule, riders are found here along the green areas of the Vtoraya Rechka (in addition to Solnishko Park, there is the Square on Davydova, Park Pobedy, and Square Very I Nadezhdy (Square of Faith and Hope), as well as the comparatively straight sidewalks of Russkaya and Borodinskaya Streets.

SUBURBS

Bicycles can be rented at the Sergey Lazlo Park of Culture and Recreation (26 Desyataya Street). Here you will find 14 models for adults, 7 for children, including for even the youngest riders. Training wheels are put on all children’s bicycles, and there are even strollers with pedals. The rental price is 200 rubles/hour (150 rubles/half-hour). Children, respectively, are 150 and 100 rubles.

The rental office is open daily, depending on the weather, from 11:00AM to 09:00PM. The terms are standard: you need to leave your passport details and your phone number. You can ride along the park paths or outside of the park: Near the bus stop with the self-explanatory name Sanatornaya, is a beautiful spot with many walking areas.

There is also bicycle rental in the minimarket chain Hakuna Matata (near the Fetisov Arena Concert and Sporting Complex and in Lazurnaya Bay. Bicycles are available here as an additional service and payment is made by credit card. The rental service is open year round, because bicycles are often rented here for the winter race “Tour de Papenberg,” held on the ice of Novik Harbor (Russkiy Island). Only mountain bikes are available and cost 200 rubles/hour, 800 rubles/day (the rental office is open until 10:00PM).

A website has been launched for rental customers сахарныйключ.рф which shows suburban routes. Beginning bicycle lovers tend to ride around the Fetisov Arena and the Sadgorod railway stop. Those with more experience ride around the Bogataya Reservoir in the Lazurnaya Bay Area, where they can return their bicycles to the rental chain’s other office (at the former post of Shamora).

CONCLUSION: CITY TRAFFIC

Despite the fact that cycling has recently been actively developing, it is necessary to ride cautiously along the city streets. Motorists in Vladivostok consider themselves the dominant class, and have a condescending view of cyclists. In turn, not all bicycle lovers consider it their duty to adequately know the traffic rules. Cycling activists are trying to remedy this by holding lectures, but so far the results leave much to be desired.

Also, in Vladivostok there are no bicycle paths and only a small amount of bicycle parking has been built. However, the situation is slowly but surely changing and city authorities are actively cooperating with the cycling community in these areas. Currently, everyone is awaiting the reconstruction of the Park Minniy Gorodok, where dedicated cycling lanes may appear.

Happy cycling in Vladivostok!

Come to Vladivostok!

We recommend

Tourist Attractions

Old GUM Courtyard

Old GUM Courtyard

Bread and jams in the courtyard of one of the most beautiful historic buildings in Vladivostok, where the "free port" spirit meets the creative energy of urban youth.

Tokarevsky Lighthouse

Tokarevsky Lighthouse

Welcome to the “world’s end” — a place where the land meets the Pacific Ocean.

WINTER FISHING

WINTER FISHING

The main winter catch in Vladivostok is smelt, which becomes a hundred times tastier if you catch it yourself.

Велосипедный Владивосток

  • Фото: Алексей Зайцев, Екатерина Швед
  • Текст: Антон Вальтон

Владивосток любит велосипеды, несмотря на свои сопки, пригорки и узкие тротуары. Кататься можно на набережных, пересекать город с юга на север или вообще уехать на остров Русский или в район Шаморы.

Во Владивостоке есть активное велосипедное сообщество «Велодом», которое всегда примет в свои ряды новых людей. Постоянно проводятся велоэкскурсии, совместные покатушки, велополо, велоквесты и другие интересные события.

Если у вас нет с собой велосипеда, то его можно будет взять на время в велопрокатах, которые находятся в разных районах города.

Кампус ДВФУ

Набережная кампуса ДВФУ — одно из самых популярных мест отдыха у горожан и гостей Владивостока. Она самая длинная и новая, а ландшфат острова позволяет как проехать по прямой, так и испытать себя на горках и небольших переправах. Вход на территорию кампуса ДВФУ для всех свободный, машину нужно будет оставить за периметром.

В паре минут от здания кампуса расположен самый крупный во Владивостоке прокат «Сам себе велосипед». Он находится в бывшей школе № 5 возле университетской набережной, сейчас здесь базируется школа экстремальных видов спорта «Точка Притяжения».

В «Сам себе велосипеде» с апреля по ноябрь находится 120 разных велосипедов — от обычных до горных, BMX и гидравлических. Стоимость проката: 150 руб/час, 500 руб/день, 700 руб/сутки. Велосипеды побольше (шикарные кастомные, тандемы, трехколесные взрослые «трайки», электровелосипеды) стоят от 250 руб/час. Для удобства перевозки на дальние расстоянии прокат может предоставить велобагажник — по 250 рублей в день, также оказывают услуги любого ремонта.

Чтобы взять велосипед, нужна копия документа, удостоверяющего личность, либо денежный залог в размере 5–7 тысяч рублей. По всем вопросам можно обращаться по телефону (423) 209-57-67. «Сам себе велосипед» в кампусе работает по будням с 11:00 до 22:00, а по выходным с 10:00 до 22:00.

На выходные рекомендуют бронировать велосипеды заранее — оплату можно осуществлять наличными или переводом на банковскую карту.

Для поклонников экстрима в школе есть мягкий фанбокс (одна из фигур, под которой уложен поролон) и поролоновая яма. Здесь велолюбители могут отработать более сложные трюки, с которыми можно выходить уже на городские жесткие площадки.

Центр Владивостока

В центре города прокат работает в филиале «Сам себе велосипеда» в гостевом доме Gallery&More (улица Фокина, 4Б). Здесь есть пять велосипедов, цена аренды за час составит 150 руб, за сутки — 800 рублей. В залог нужно будет оставить паспорт (права) или 7 500 рублей.

Кататься в центре Владивостока можно по набережной Спортивной гавани, а также стоит проехаться по первому участку «Тропы здоровья» до стадиона МГУ имени Невельского. В обозримом будущем городские власти планируют продлить «Тропу здоровья» от Токаревского маяка до района Второй речки.

На Спортивной набережной напротив спорткомплекса «Олимпиец» есть рампа для экстремалов, где могут кататься как новички, так и опытные райдеры. Это цельная фигура из фанеры, поэтому «улететь» с нее не так просто. Проход сюда свободный в любое время суток.

Набережная Цесаревича

Еще одним популярным у горожан местом отдыха на велосипедах является набережная Цесаревича. Она расположена на берегу бухты Золотой Рог, с прекрасным видом на «Золотой» мост. Многие выбирают ее не только за протяженность, но и за ухоженность.

В местном велопрокате 50 велосипедов, в том числе детских. Аренда двух- и трехколесных стоит 200 руб/час, взрослых — 250 руб/час, горных — 300 руб/час.

Чтобы взять велосипед, нужно оставить документ, либо денежный залог (несколько тысяч рублей, в зависимости от модели). В стоимость аренды входит защита: наколенники и шлемы. Работает прокат с 13:00 до 24:00 часов, в пасмурную погоду может быть закрыт.

На набережной также расположена мини-рампа для экстремалов — заниматься здесь начинают, в основном, ближе к вечеру, когда уходит большая часть отдыхающих. Несмотря на внешнюю простоту рампы, на ней можно исполнять достаточно сложные трюки.

Вторая речка

15 велосипедов можно найти в парке «Солнышко» (улица Бородинская, 15Б) — здесь также находится филиал проката «Сам себе велосипед». Катаются тут, как правило, по зеленым зонам Второй речки (кроме парка «Солнышко» есть сквер на Давыдова, Парк Победы, сквер «Веры и надежды»), а также по относительно прямым тротуарам улиц Русская и Бородинская.

Пригород

Велосипед напрокат можно взять в Парке культуры и отдыха имени Сергея Лазо (улица Десятая, 26): здесь вас ждут 14 взрослых моделей, 7 детских, в том числе для самых маленьких. На все детские ставятся дополнительные колесики, есть также коляски с педалями. Стоимость проката — 200 руб/час (150 руб/полчаса), детские, соответственно, 150 и 100 рублей.

Работает прокат каждый день, в зависимости от погоды, с 11:00 до 21:00. Условия стандартные: нужно оставить паспортные данные и свой номер телефона. Кататься можно как по дорожкам самого парка, так и за его пределами: в районе остановки с говорящим названием Санаторная есть немало прогулочных зон и прекрасная природа.

Также велопрокат есть в сети минимаркетов «Акуна Матата» (районы концертно-спортивного комплекса «Фетисов-Арены» и бухты Лазурной). Здесь велосипеды предоставляются в качестве дополнительной услуги, оплатить которую можно с помощью кредитной карты. Работает прокат круглый год, и потому здесь часто берут велосипеды для зимней гонки «Тур де Папенберг», проходящей по льду залива Новик (остров Русский). Модели представлены только горные, стоимость аренды — 200 руб/час, 800 руб/день (работает прокат до 22:00).

Специально для клиентов проката запустили сайт сахарныйключ.рф, где можно посмотреть пригородные маршруты. Велолюбители с начальным уровнем подготовки, как правило, ездят в окрестностях «Фетисов-Арены» и железнодорожной остановки «Садгород». Более подготовленные уезжают мимо Богатого водохранилища в район бухты Лазурной, где они могут сдать свой велосипед в другом прокате сети (бывший гарнизон Шаморы).

Покататься на великах можно и на территории спортивно-технического комплекса «Приморское кольцо». Можно записаться на велоэкскурсии по уникальному объекту «Примринга», а можно и самостоятельно выбрать маршрут. Прокат велосипедов для взрослых обойдется в 250р./час, для детей — 150р./час. На день, соответственно, — 500 и 400 рублей.

Заключение. Движение в городе

Несмотря на то, что велодвижение в последнее время активно развивается, по городским улицам нужно передвигаться осторожно. Автомобилисты во Владивостоке считают себя доминирующим классом, и на велосипедистов поглядывают слегка свысока. В свою очередь, не все велолюбители считают своим долгом знать ПДД на достаточном уровне. Велоактивисты пытаются это исправить, проводя лекции, но результат пока оставляет желать лучшего.

Также во Владивостоке нет велодорожек и построено лишь небольшое количество велопарковок. Хотя ситуация медленно, но верно меняется — городская власть активно сотрудничает с велосообществом в этом направлении. Сейчас все ждут реконструкцию парка Минного городка, где могут появиться специальные выделенные полосы.

Хорошего катания во Владивостоке!

Приезжайте во Владивосток!

Мы рекомендуем

Спорт и экстрим

Ледовый полумарафон "Vladivostok Ice Run"

Ледовый полумарафон "Vladivostok Ice Run"

Приехать во Владивосток, чтобы пробежать по воде.

Морской каякинг

Морской каякинг

Бескрайняя переливающаяся гладь моря. Мерное покачивание весла. Безлюдные пляжи, залитые солнцем. Темные прохладные гроты и синее небо над головой. Наслаждайтесь! Это морской каякинг.

SUP-серфинг

SUP-серфинг

Посетить самые сокровенные уголки побережья, сплавиться по реке, поймать волну… стоя на SUP-доске! Доступно, спортивно, медитативно. Популярный вид летнего отдыха в нашем городе.