SUP-surfing

Stand and Paddle

  • Photo: Yakov Ulkin

SUP (stand up paddle surfing) is a sport that has rapidly gained popularity around the world in the last 10 years. The rider stands on a large board and uses a light paddle. On SUP-boards one can cruise along the shore, run rivers, and of course - ride waves.

A special feature of the sport is accessibility. Five minutes is enough to learn how to glide along smooth water. The only thing you need is a wide, stable beginner’s board. Balance develops very quickly, and literally within a couple of hours one can feel confident on a narrower sport board that is suitable for high speed riding and traveling. Catching waves is harder and takes practice. Still, SUP-surfing is easier than classic surfing and not so dependent on conditions; it is possible to ride waves as small as 30 cm (12 inches).

The best place for SUP-surfing in Vladivostok is Sobol (Sable) Bay. Due to the special topography of the seabed there, waves are just right and flow over a long distance.

The only negative aspect of "sap-boards" is their size (about 3 meters or 10 feet), implying the need to have a house by the sea or a garage and car to transport them. But that problem has been resolved: a few years ago, inflatable SUP-boards appeared. They pump up to very high pressure and become rigid; deflated they fit into a special backpack. The inflatable "sap" is particularly popular with residents of Vladivostok, where conditions are just wonderful for SUP-surfing.

Yacob Ulkin, director of SUP equipment shop "Third Wave"

"It all started in 2010 when we got carried away by our enthusiasm for surfing. To catch all waves, even the smallest ones, we bought a SUP-board and began learning to ride. We didn’t think that simply gliding on smooth water would be very interesting, but there is something special in this that words cannot convey. It’s like meditation. Try it once and you’ll fall in love with this pastime forever. We’re now putting a lot of effort into development of the sport: setting up “test drives” at city festivals and holding competitions (speed races)"

Currently SUP surfing is a very popular sport in Vladivostok. On a clear day, hundreds of people ride along the coast. Favorite SUP routes are the lighthouse on Basargin Peninsula, the beautiful cape of Tobizina, around sunken ships in Trud (Labor) Bay, and, of course, Shkot Island with its many caves and lagoons.

Enthusiasts of SUP-surfing even ride in the winter! For experienced riders the risk of falling off the board into the cold water is minimal. So, at temperatures just above zero (freezing) one can comfortably ride in an ordinary wet suit. In winter, our sea looks completely different. The water is very clear, and floating ice floes form stunning geometric patterns. And if you’re lucky, you might see seals because in winter they are not afraid to swim up and bask on the ice right in the city.

In Vladivostok, you can rent an inflatable SUP-board for a day or more, get brief instruction on the art of riding and safety directly in the shop, and go out to conquer the coastal bays on your own or together with friends. Another option is to sign up for a SUP-walk. With other beginners you’ll have a short excursion under the supervision of an experienced guide. Some of the beautiful photos taken during these walks can be seen on Instagram pages @sup_vl and @sunny.sup

THIRD WAVE

+7 914 705-61-22

SUP-boards and equipment

SUP_VL

+7 902 487-67-41

SUP-walks

SUNNY SUP

+7 968 168-75-36

SUP-walks:

Come to Vladivostok!

We recommend

Beyond Vladivostok

Izumrudnaya dolina (Emerald valley) park

Izumrudnaya dolina (Emerald valley) park

Open-air museum gives opportunity to plunge into the way of life of different folks and understand how our ancestors lived.

Diving in Primorye

Diving in Primorye

The Sea of Japan does not immediately give one-touch portraits of its beauty and its inhabitants. It does so slowly and unhurriedly, each time beckoning.

The Land of the Leopard

The Land of the Leopard

It is home to the rarest cat on Earth.

SUP-серфинг

Встань и греби

  • Фото: Владимир Бульбах, Алексей Копырин, Яков Улькин
  • Видео: Михаил Терентьев

SUP (stand up paddle surfing) — вид спорта, стремительно набравший популярность во всем мире в последние 10 лет. Для катания используется большая доска, на которой райдер стоит, и легкое весло. На SUP-досках можно путешествовать вдоль побережья, сплавляться по рекам и, конечно, ловить волны.

Особенность спорта — доступность. Чтобы научиться скользить по гладкой воде, достаточно 5 минут. Необходимо лишь взять широкую, стабильную доску для начинающих. Но баланс развивается очень быстро, и буквально через пару часов вы уже будете уверенно чувствовать себя на более узком спортивном «сапе», пригодном для скоростного катания и путешествий. Ловить волны сложнее, требуется практика. И все равно, SUP-серфинг намного проще, чем классический серфинг, и менее требователен к условиям — можно кататься на волнах от 30 см.

Лучшим местом для SUP-серфинга во Владивостоке является бухта Соболь. Благодаря особому рельефу дна, волны здесь очень правильные и идут долго.

Единственный минус «сап-досок» — это их размеры (около 3 метров), предполагающие наличие дома у моря, либо гаража и авто для транспортировки. Но и эта проблема была решена. Несколько лет назад появились надувные SUP-доски. Они накачиваются специальным насосом до высокого давления и становятся очень жесткими, а в сдутом виде упаковываются в специальный рюкзак. Именно надувные «сапы» наиболее популярны у жителей Владивостока, где просто замечательные условия для SUP-серфинга.

Яков Улькин, директор магазина SUP-снаряжения «Третья Волна».

«Все началось в 2010 году, когда мы увлеклись серфингом. Чтобы ловить все волны от самых маленьких, мы купили SUP-доски и стали учиться кататься. Не думали, что просто скользить по гладкой воде будет тоже очень интересно. В этом есть что-то особенное, словами не передать. Похоже на медитацию. Стоит раз попробовать, и влюбляешься в это занятие навсегда. Сейчас мы вкладываем много сил в развитие этого вида спорта: устраиваем тест-драйвы на городских праздниках, проводим соревнования (гонки на скорость)».

В настоящее время катание на SUP — очень популярный во Владивостоке спорт. В погожий день вдоль побережья катаются сотни людей. Наиболее любимые SUP-маршруты: маяк на полуострове Басаргина, красивейший мыс Тобизина, бухта Труда с затонувшими кораблями. И, конечно, остров Шкота с его многочисленными гротами и лагунами.

Фанаты SUP-серфинга катаются даже зимой! Если есть опыт, риск упасть с доски в воду минимален. Поэтому при температуре чуть выше нуля можно с комфортом кататься в обычном гидрокостюме. Зимой наше море выглядит совсем по-другому. Вода очень прозрачна, плавающие льдины образуют завораживающий геометрический узор. Если повезет, удастся встретить нерп: зимой они не боятся плавать и нежиться на льдинах прямо в городской черте.

Во Владивостоке можно взять надувную SUP-доску в прокат на сутки и более, получить краткое руководство по технике катания и безопасности прямо в магазине, и отправиться покорять приморские бухты самостоятельно или вместе с друзьями. Другой вариант — записаться на SUP-прогулку. В компании таких же новичков вы пройдете небольшой маршрут под руководством опытного гида. Увидеть прекрасные фото, сделанные во время таких прогулок, можно в Instagram на страничках @sup_vl,@sunny.supи @3volna

Третья волна

+7 914 705-61-22

SUP-доски и снаряжение

SUP-прогулки и обучение

SUP_VL

+7 902 487-67-41

SUP-прогулки

SUNNY SUP

+7 968 168-75-36

SUP-прогулки

Приезжайте во Владивосток!

Мы рекомендуем

Спорт и экстрим

Клифф-дайвинг

Клифф-дайвинг

Преодолеть страх высоты, насладиться полётом и окунуться в море… позитива!

Зимняя рыбалка

Зимняя рыбалка

Главная зимняя рыба во Владивостоке — это корюшка, которая становится в сто раз вкусней, если вы поймаете её собственноручно.

Ледовый полумарафон "Vladivostok Ice Run"

Ледовый полумарафон "Vladivostok Ice Run"

Приехать во Владивосток, чтобы пробежать по воде.