Primorskiy State Picture Gallery

  • Photo: Primorskiy State Picture Gallery
  • Text: Olesya Lyashenko

Primorskiy State Picture Gallery on Aleutskaya (Aleutian) Street is the pillar and bulwark of Primorye Territory’s fine art in its traditional sense. You are unlikely to see dubious installations or trendy performances here; it is a public institution, and all exhibits go through a specific planning and professional selection process.

Being a state museum does not mean it is boring, however. Subsidies from the regional budget and private donations provide permanent funding, comprehensive planning, maintenance of exhibits and buildings, as well as continuous updating of collections through gifts and acquisitions from owners and their heirs.

A complete art collection began to take shape in Vladivostok in the 1930s due to a governmental decision to redistribute funds from the Tretyakov Gallery, the Pushkin Museum, the Academy of Arts Museum, and the Hermitage to regional museums. At present, the permanent collection galleries have about 250 exhibits of Russian and Western European art, including works by authors of international renown: Chagall, Kandinsky, Popova, Lebedev, Falk, Lentulova, Kuprin, Konchalovsky, Serov, and Aivazovsky.

Works in the permanent gallery generally considered heritage assets are "Portrait of David's Brother with a Mandolin" by Marc Chagall (1914) and "Improvisation" by Wassily Kandinsky (1913):

"Portrait of David's Brother with a Mandolin" by Marc Chagall
"Improvisation" by Wassily Kandinsky

"Improvisation" - a typical example of the founder of abstract art Wassily Kandinsky - has international stature and is exhibited abroad regularly - in Italy, Belgium, and Brazil. The painting came to the museum from the Tretyakov Gallery and was supposed to go up for auction, but it miraculously escaped such a fate. Vladivostokians and guests of the city can see the masterpiece in the permanent exhibition hall when it returns home from its "road trip."

"Portrait of David’s Brother with a Mandolin" (drawing, paper, opaque watercolor) cannot be displayed to visitors for more than three months in a row due to preservation concerns; it must be given a "rest" after being actively exhibited. The painting came from the Tretyakov Gallery about 70 years ago; in the meantime, the masterpiece has traveled to Germany, the USA, Finland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Austria, and Switzerland and has brought Primorskiy Gallery worldwide fame.

The Picture Gallery has also been active in "Asian" destinations where there are regular calligraphy and print exhibits, as well as special projects and joint exhibitions.

In Primorye, they pay special attention to the development and support of local schools of fine art. In the gallery’s holdings, there is an extensive collection of works by representatives of various historical periods. Among the famous artists who have left their marks on this coastal region, the first to come to mind is an iconic figure and graduate of the Düsseldorf Academy of Art - Karl Kahle. An artist with a tragic fate, he played an important role in the formation of maritime impressionism. Kahle was not a native of Primorye, but he lived here for a certain period after 1911 and managed to capture the seaside scenery on his canvases. Currently, there are nine masterworks stored in the gallery donated by Russian and Japanese collectors, most notably, the unique "Portrait of a Woman" (artist was not a portraitist).

After large-scale restorations to mark its 50th anniversary, the gallery offered exhibitions of various trends and formats: individual, group, stand-alone masterpieces, art projects, permanent exhibitions of Old Russian art and works from the 18th to early 20th century.

The average cost of a ticket to visit the exhibition is 200-350 rubles for adults and 50-150 rubles for children over 7 years old. Guided tours are available for visitors upon request; the cost is 50 rubles in addition to the basic ticket price.

Aleutskaya Str., 12
+7 (423) 241-06-10
11AM–7PM, mon.: closed
primgallery.com

Come to Vladivostok!

We recommend

Tourist Attractions

Walking in Vladivostok, route 3 (in Arsenyev’s footsteps)

Walking in Vladivostok, route 3 (in Arsenyev’s footsteps)

Arsenyev Museum – Ulitsa Svetlanskaya (Svetlanskaya Street) – Hotel "Versailles" – Kinoteatr "Okean" (Movie Theater "Ocean") – Makarov Square – Ulitsa Naberezhnaya (Seafront Street) – Chekhov Square – Ulitsa Pervaya morskaya (First Marine Street) – Ulitsa Arsenyeva (Arsenyeva Street) – Arsenyev’s Traveler House (Dom puteshestvennika Arsenyeva)

Marathons of Vladivostok

Marathons of Vladivostok

Marathons have become an integral part of major cities around the world, and the global trend is currently taking root in Russia. Vladivostok is one of four Russian cities (including Moscow, St. Petersburg and Omsk) leading the advancement of large-scale races.

Retaining walls

Retaining walls

Murals on retaining walls have become a new creative trend in Vladivostok.

Приморская государственная картинная галерея

  • Фото: Приморская картинная галерея
  • Текст: Олеся Ляшенко

Приморская государственная картинная галерея на Алеутской — это столп и оплот изобразительного искусства Приморского края в традиционном его понимании. Вы вряд ли увидите здесь двусмысленные инсталляции и ультрамодные перфомансы: это государственное учреждение, и все выставки проходят определённую долю профессионального отбора ещё на стадии планирования.

Те не менее, государственное — не означает скучное. Дотации из краевого бюджета и частные пожертвования обеспечивают постоянное финансирование, тщательное планирование, содержание экспонатов и здания в ухоженном виде и постоянное пополнение коллекции за счёт даров и приобретений у владельцев и наследников.

Полноценная художественная коллекция начала формироваться во Владивостоке в 30-е годы прошлого столетия в результате государственного постановления о перераспределении фондов из Третьяковской галереи, Пушкинского музея, музея Академии художеств, Эрмитажа в региональные музеи. В настоящее время постоянная коллекция галереи насчитывает около 250-ти экспонатов русского и западно-европейского искусства, включая работы авторов с мировой известностью: Шагала, Кандинского, Поповой, Лебедева, Фалька, Лентулова, Куприна, Кончаловского, Серова, Айвазовского.

Общепризнанным достоянием постоянных фондов галереи считаются «Портрет брата Давида с мандолиной» Марка Шагала (1914) и «Импровизация» Василия Кандинского (1913):

«Портрет брата Давида с мандолиной»«Портрет брата Давида с мандолиной»
«Импровизация»«Импровизация»

«Импровизация» — типичный пример творчества основоположника абстракционизма Василия Кандинского — имеет международную ценность и регулярно выставляется за рубежом: в Италии, в Бельгии, в Бразилии. Картина поступила в музей из Третьяковской галереи, должна была быть выставлена на аукцион, но чудесным образом избежала своей участи. Владивостокцы и гости города могут увидеть шедевр в зале постоянной экспозиции, когда он возвращается домой из «гастрольного тура».

«Портрет брата Давида с мандолиной» (графика, бумага, гуашь) не может демонстрироваться посетителям более трех месяцев подряд из соображений сохранности и должен регулярно «отдыхать» после активной выставочной деятельности. Картина поступила из Третьяковки около 70-ти лет назад, за это время шедевр побывал в Германии, США, Финляндии, Израиле, Италии, Японии, Австрии, Швейцарии и прославил Приморскую галерею на весь мир.

Картинная галерея осуществляет активную деятельность и в «азиатском» направлении — проводятся регулярные выставки каллиграфии и гравюр, специальные проекты и совместные выставки.

Здесь также уделяют отдельное внимание развитию и поддержке приморской школы изобразительного искусства. В фондах галереи находится обширная коллекция работ её представителей разных эпох. Среди известных художников, оставивших свой след на приморской земле, в первую очередь вспоминается знаковая фигура, выпускник Дюссельдорфской Академии художеств — Карл Каль. Художник с трагической судьбой, сыгравший большую роль в становлении приморского импрессионизма. Он не был уроженцем Приморья, но прожил здесь определённый промежуток времени с 1911 года и успел запечатлеть приморские пейзажи на своих полотнах. В настоящее время в галерее хранятся девять работ мастера, подаренных российскими и японскими коллекционерами, в частности, уникальный «Женский портрет» (художник не был портретистом).

После масштабной реставрации галерея, отметившая своё 50-летие, предлагает гостям выставки разных направлений и форматов: персональные, групповые, одного шедевра, арт-проекты, постоянные экспозиции древнерусского и русского искусства 18-го — начала 20-го века.

Средняя стоимость билета на посещение выставки — 200–350 рублей для взрослых, 50–150 рублей для детей старше 7 лет. По желанию посетителей проводятся экскурсии с гидом. Стоимость экскурсии — 50 рублей в дополнение к основному билету.

ул. Алеутская 12
+7 (423) 241-06-10
11:00–19:00, пн.: выходной
primgallery.com

Приезжайте во Владивосток!

Мы рекомендуем

Культурный отдых

Пешком по Владивостоку, маршрут № 2 (вдоль моря)

Пешком по Владивостоку, маршрут № 2 (вдоль моря)

Арбат (ул. Адм. Фокина) — Набережная Спортивной гавани — Океанариум — Музей «Владивостокская крепость» — ул. Батарейная — Сквер городов-побратимов — бар «Мумий Тролль»

Галерея современного искусства «Арка»

Галерея современного искусства «Арка»

Частная владивостокская галерея, работающая с 1995 года, хорошо известна культурному сообществу страны и во многом формирует художественное мировоззрение молодых художников города.

Фестиваль V-ROX

Фестиваль V-ROX

Праздник музыки и творческого общения, открывающий миру новые имена.