TOWARDS THE DAWN

  • Photo: Zarya CCA
  • Text: Elena Belova

The Zarya (dawn) Center for Contemporary Art was opened in 2013 in an old Soviet garment factory. The Synergy group of companies and its director, Primoryan Aleksandr Mechetin, decided to create The Zarya Factory, the first Far Eastern loft and art cluster in the city. And this urban space appeared at the entrance to Vladivostok, which surprises visitors with its architecture and design, exhibitions, film screenings, lectures and unusual free atmosphere.

The Zarya CCA is worth visiting, even if you are not a fan of modern art: there is a beautiful reading room with the latest new books, fast wi-fi and a small coffee shop. You can work, relax, read and talk to creative people.

The center’s large exhibitions are something about which Zarya is especially proud. The first was the “Reconstruction of Noise,” an exhibition of sounds, recreated according to theater actor, inventor and designer Vladimir Popov’s, scenario and performed by Petr Aidu’s Musical Laboratory.

Three months in CCA’s hall in commemoration of the anniversary of the Great Victory did not abate the echoes of tank battles, the roar of bombers, and the rumbling of train echelons. Visitors could also hear fascinating natural noises, including a sea breeze, monsoon rains, the sound of the surf and characteristic of local winters, gusty winds, recreated especially for Vladivostok.

Then there was the Homo Ludens exhibition (the playing man) with eight generations of electronic gaming: from collector consoles of the 1970s and 1980s (Odyssey Magnavox, Pong Atari, Channel F Fairchild and the Soviet game “Nu, Pogodi!”) to the Sony PlayStation 4.

It is also worth noting the first solo exhibition of the artist Pavel Pukhov, who worked under the pseudonym Pasha 183. Pasha 183’s exhibition “Our task is a feat” turned Zarya’s halls into actual streets, with graffiti, drawings, and paintings of street artists who died tragically.

Also, specifically for CCA, Moscow artist Georgi Ostretsov made a series of works about the utopian “New Government” and has created a fantastic Vladivostok “Prezidentmobil” from a Toyota Carina, leaving only the frame and the engine.

One of the latest exhibitions sparked a hot discussion. The exhibition of women artists, “Her,” which opened on March 8, a bright and controversial study of the image of women and their relationship with the world excited all of Vladivostok.

In 2014, the center started to work on the Zarya Art Residence, where every month painters, sculptors, and photographers come from around the world. Their task is to create their own project in Vladivostok, conduct lectures and workshops, and communicate with citizens.

Now every citizen of the city has the opportunity to become acquainted with bright people from different spheres of contemporary art.

HOW TO FIND THE ZARYA CENTER FOR CONTEMPORARY ART

Bus Stop Zarya at 155 Prospekt 100 Let Vladivostoku, Fabrika Zarya, workshop 2, entrance 10, second floor

Working hours: Monday through Thursday from 12:00AM to 08:00PM, Friday to Sunday from 11:00AM to 10:00PM. Free admission.

Prospekt 100-letiya Vladivostoka, 155
+7 (423) 231-71-00
11:00AM–10:00PM
zaryavladivostok.ru

Come to Vladivostok!

We recommend

History and Culture

Sightseeing bureau "City Time"

Sightseeing bureau "City Time"

Discover Vladivostok through our bus, cycle, and — best of all — walking tours, led by the most knowledgeable tour guides in the city.

Organ Concerts

Organ Concerts

The only one in the (Russian) Far East — not inferior to counterparts in New York.

ARKA GALLERY OF CONTEMPORARY ART

ARKA GALLERY OF CONTEMPORARY ART

A private gallery, open since 1995, and well known in the country's art community, in many ways guiding the artistic philosophy of the city's young artists.

«Заре» навстречу

  • Фото: ЦСИ «Заря»
  • Текст: Елена Белова

Центр современного искусства «Заря» открылся в 2013 году на базе советской швейной фабрики. Группа компаний «Синергия» и ее руководитель — приморец Александр Мечетин, решили создать в городе первый дальневосточный лофт и арт-кластер «Фабрика «Заря». Вот так на въезде во Владивосток появилось городское пространство, которое удивляет гостей своей архитектурой и дизайном, выставками, кинопоказами, лекциями и необычной свободной атмосферой.

В ЦСИ «Заря» стоит приехать, даже если вы и не поклонник современного искусства — тут находится прекрасный читальный зал с последними книжными новинками, быстрым wi-fi и небольшой кофейней. Можно поработать, отдохнуть, почитать и пообщаться с творческими людьми.

Большие выставки центра — особенная гордость «Зари». И первой из них стала «Реконструкция шума» — экспозиция звуковых инсталляций, воссозданных по сценарию театрального актера, изобретателя и конструктора Владимира Попова коллективом Музыкальной лаборатории Петра Айду.

Три месяца в зале ЦСИ в ознаменование юбилея Великой Победы не стихали отзвуки танковых сражений, гул бомбардировщиков, грохот железнодорожных эшелонов. А также посетители могли услышать завораживающие природные шумы, в числе которых были воссозданные специально для Владивостока морской бриз, муссонные ливни, шум прибоя и характерный для местной зимы порывистый ветер.

Затем состоялась выставка Homo Ludens («Человек играющий») с игровой электроникой восьми поколений — от коллекционных консолей 70-80-х годов (Odyssey Magnavox, Pong Atari, Channel F Fairchild и советской игры «Ну, погоди!») до Sony PlayStation 4.

Еще стоит отметить первую персональную выставку художника Павла Пухова, работавшего под псевдонимом Паша 183. Выставка Паши 183 «Наше дело — подвиг» превратила залы «Зари» в настоящие улицы, где появились граффити, рисунки и картины трагически погибшего художника стрит-арта.

Также специально для ЦСИ московский художник Георгий Острецов сделал серию работ про утопическое «Новое правительство» и создал владивостокский фантастический «президентмобиль», оставив от Toyota Carina лишь остов и двигатель.

Жаркое обсуждение вызвала одна из последних экспозиций — выставка женщин-художниц «Её», открывшаяся к 8 марта. Яркие и неоднозначные исследования образа женщины и ее взаимоотношений с миром взволновали весь Владивосток.

В 2014 году на базе центра начала работать арт-резиденция «Заря», куда каждый месяц приезжают художники, скульпторы и фотографы со всего мира. Их задача — создать во Владивостоке собственный проект, провести лекции и мастер-классы, пообщаться с горожанами.

Сейчас у каждого жителя города появилась возможность познакомиться с яркими людьми, представляющими разные сферы современного искусства.

Как найти центр современного искусства «Заря»

Автобусная остановка «Заря», проспект 100 лет Владивостоку, 155. Фабрика «Заря», цех 2, подъезд 10, 2 этаж

Время работы: с понедельника по четверг — с 12:00 до 20:00, с пятницы по воскресенье — с 11:00 до 22:00, вход свободный.

пр-т 100-летия Владивостока, 155
+7 (423) 231-71-00
11:00–22:00
zaryavladivostok.ru

Приезжайте во Владивосток!

Мы рекомендуем

Культурный отдых

Галерея современного искусства «Арка»

Галерея современного искусства «Арка»

Частная владивостокская галерея, работающая с 1995 года, хорошо известна культурному сообществу страны и во многом формирует художественное мировоззрение молодых художников города.

Кинофестиваль «Меридианы Тихого»

Кинофестиваль «Меридианы Тихого»

В дни кинофестиваля можно посмотреть свежие работы мэтров кино и молодых режиссёров из стран АТР, встретиться с кумирами публики и «потусить» на мастер-классах и концертах.

Театр им. Горького

Театр им. Горького

Драматический театр имени М. Горького. Его ведущих актеров горожане знают в лицо.