ARKA GALLERY OF CONTEMPORARY ART

  • Photo: Veronika Stakheeva
  • Text: Aleksandr Lobychev

Founder and director Vera Glazkova and art historian Marina Kulikova established the Arka Gallery of Contemporary Art in 1995. At that time the gallery business in Russia, and especially in the Russian Far East, was in its beginnings.

The studio’s first exhibition was of artist Sergey Simakov, one of the representatives of the unofficial art of Primorye. So, from the first exhibition the Arka’s style was determined: uniting artists working in contemporary art, from abstract paintings to photography, and from videos to performances. In 1997 the gallery settled into its own building in Vladivostok’s historical area and quickly gained popularity, becoming one of the city’s most attractive cultural centers.

Today it can be said that the Arka gallery is not just one of the first signs of the gallery business in the vast expanse of Siberia and the Russian Far East, but also a model of a modern gallery in Eastern Russia.

The gallery’s main purposes are to promote the philosophy and aesthetics of contemporary art, promote artists of the region, and widen international contacts for exhibitions. In recent years, the gallery has had regular contributions from talented Russian Far East painters and graphic designers such as: Veniamin Goncharenko, Aleksandr Pyrkov, Yuri Sobchenko, Vladimir Tsoy, Vladimir Pogrebnyak, Dzon Kudryavtsev; photographers such as Mikhail Pavin and Gleb Teleshov, performance and exhibition artist Katya Kandyba-Demidenko, and many, many others.

With its innovative concepts, stylistic exhibitions and events, the Arka is actively involved in shaping Vladivostok’s cultural environment, beneficially influencing the creative outlook of young artists in the Russian Far East.

The Arka Gallery is well known in Russia, and has organized exhibitions held in Moscow, St. Petersburg and cities throughout Russia and the world. From 1998 to the present, as part of international cultural cooperation, the gallery has held exhibitions of artists from France, Germany, Belgium, the US, South Korea, Japan, and China. Since 2000, the gallery has participated in many international festivals, including: Art Moscow, Art Forum Berlin, Art Miami, Art Vienna, Art Athens, DiVA (Paris), ARCOmadrid (Madrid), ART-PARIS (Paris), CIGE (Beijing), and others.

The living pulse of contemporary art beats in each new exhibition at the Arka, which is clearly felt here on the shores of the Zolotoy Rog.

Svetlanskaya Str., 5
+7 (423) 241-05-26
11PM–6AM
arkagallery.ru

Come to Vladivostok!

We recommend

History and Culture

Arch of the crown prince

Arch of the crown prince

This is the place where Vladivostok residents met the future Emperor Nicholas II with bread and salt upon his visit in 1891.

Organ Concerts

Organ Concerts

The only one in the (Russian) Far East — not inferior to counterparts in New York.

Sightseeing bureau "City Time"

Sightseeing bureau "City Time"

Discover Vladivostok through our bus, cycle, and — best of all — walking tours, led by the most knowledgeable tour guides in the city.

Галерея современного искусства «Арка»

  • Фото: Вероника Стахеева
  • Текст: Александр Лобычев

Галерея современного искусства «АРКА» была создана в 1995 году усилиями её основателя и директора Веры Глазковой и искусствоведа Марины Куликовой. Галерейное дело в стране и уж тем более на Дальнем Востоке в это время только начиналось.

Первая выставка состоялась в мастерской художника Сергея Симакова, одного из представителей неофициального искусства Приморья. Так уже с самого начала определился галерейный стиль «Арки», которая объединила авторов, работающих на территории современного искусства — от абстрактной живописи до фотографии, от видеоинсталляции до перформанса. В 1997 году галерея обосновалась в собственном помещении в исторической части Владивостока, быстро приобрела известность и стала одним из самых привлекательных культурных центров города.

Сегодня можно сказать, что галерея «АРКА» не только одна из первых ласточек галерейного дела на всем огромном пространстве Сибири и Дальнего Востока, но и своего рода эталон современной галереи на востоке России.

Главная задача её деятельности — это популяризация эстетики и философии современного искусства, продвижение художников своего региона, а также широкие международные контакты в плане выставочной деятельности. Среди постоянных авторов галереи за прошедшие годы были талантливейшие дальневосточные живописцы и графики: Вениамин Гончаренко, Александр Пырков, Юрий Собченко, Владимир Цой, Владимир Погребняк, Джон Кудрявцев, фотографы Михаил Павин и Глеб Телешов, автор инсталляций и перформансов Катя Кандыба-Демиденко и многие, многие другие.

Своими новаторскими по концепциям и стилистике экспозициями и акциями «Арка» активно участвует в формировании культурной среды Владивостока и оказывает плодотворное влияние на художественное мировоззрение молодых художников во всем регионе Дальнего Востока.

Галерея «Арка» хорошо известна в стране, организованные ею выставки проходили в Москве, Санкт-Петербурге и других российских и зарубежных городах. В контексте культурного международного сотрудничества с 1998 по настоящее время в галерее состоялись выставки художников Франции, Германии, Бельгии, США, Республики Корея, Японии, КНР. Начиная с 2000 года, галерея принимает участие во многих международных ярмарках: «Арт-Москва», «Арт-Форум-Берлин», «Арт-Майами», «Арт-Вена», «Арт-Афины», DiVA (Париж), ARCOmadrid (Мадрид), ART-PARIS (Париж), CIGE (Пекин) и других.

Каждая новая экспозиция в галерее «Арка» — это живой пульс современного искусства, который можно внятно почувствовать здесь — на берегах бухты Золотой Рог.

ул. Светланская, 5
+7 (423) 241-05-26
11:00–18:00
arkagallery.ru

Приезжайте во Владивосток!

Мы рекомендуем

Культурный отдых

Международный джазовый фестиваль

Международный джазовый фестиваль

Свободная импровизация жизни — фирменный владивостокский стиль.

Органные концерты

Органные концерты

Музыка, которая льется с небес.

Пешком по Владивостоку, маршрут № 3 (по следам Арсеньева)

Пешком по Владивостоку, маршрут № 3 (по следам Арсеньева)

Музей Арсеньева — ул. Светланская — отель «Версаль» — к/т «Океан» — Сквер им. Макарова — ул. Набережная — Сквер им. Чехова — ул. 1-я Морская — ул. Арсеньева — Дом Путешественника Арсеньева.