PRIMORye cherry tree

RHODODENDRON

In favor of the Japanese cherry tree, Primorye residents admire the blooming wild rosemary. Although, it is actually a rhododendron, but that is a bit of a mouthful.

Depending on how harsh the winter, it may bloom in March, but usually in April through June. During the May holidays many Vladivostok residents make their first trip to the forest or mountains, for example, to Pidan. The snow has almost melted even on the ridge, and on the southern slopes a pink-lavender cloud of blooming rhododendrons can be seen from afar, blanketing the rocky cliffs.

The flower became the official symbol of Vladivostok in 1994. And since 2005, the Botanical Garden has held Rhododendron Day. Rhododendron twigs picked in February bloom at home in a vase in three weeks, which made it very popular and almost led to its demise.

The Botanical Garden has a great collection of the rhododendron family from Japan, China, Korea and North America.

In Primorye there are several species of rhododendron. There is a dwarf form with yellow flowers, but they grow on the mountaintops and have difficulty taking root in the valleys. There is the ordinary rosemary, but almost double-flowered and a bright crimson.

The most beautiful is Schlippenbach’s rhododendron, which grows on the southern hills of the Khasansky region Its flowers are large, up to seven centimeters, and pure white or creamy peach. This flower was first discovered in Korea and described by a Russian officer from the frigate Pallada, A. E. Schlippenbach, and was thusly named.

In the middle of the 20th century, an unusual grove of trees was found in the Ussuri Taiga on a single spur of the Sikhote-Alin range, at the head of the river Dzhigitovki. Botanists were in disbelief when told of the evergreen tree with white flowers and leather leaves that wintered as a tuber in North Primorye.

They did not believe until they saw it with their own eyes. A small grove of rhododendron Fori, a subtropical plant, growing where it should not be. But here it has entered into a community with native species of firs and therefore has not really taken root in other places, even further south.

This rhododendron blooms in the summer, though not every year: if you are lucky you might catch it.

Come to Vladivostok!

We recommend

Beyond Vladivostok

Shamora

Shamora

A place known throughout Russia thanks to Mumiy Troll's eponymous album; a 30 to 40-minute drive from Vladivostok awaits this large, sandy beach.

SHTYKOVSKIE PONDS

SHTYKOVSKIE PONDS

This recreation park will delight with its variety of wooden architecture, clean air and the opportunity to feel like a talented craftsman.

Lotus flowers in Primorye

Lotus flowers in Primorye

Like Hanami, the cherry blossom viewing tradition in Japan, lotus flower viewing is big in Primorye.

Приморская сакура

Рододендрон

Вместо сакуры приморцы любуются цветением багульника. На самом деле это — рододендрон, но попробуй выговори.

В зависимости от того, какая была зима, он может зацвести и в марте, но в основном, в апреле и вплоть до июня. На майские праздники многие владивостокцы делают первый выезд в лес или в горы, например, на Пидан (г. Ливадийская). Снег даже на гребне почти стаял и на южных склонах, на каменистых осыпях издалека видно розовато-лиловое облако цветущих рододендронов остроконечных.

Цветок этот стал официальным символом Владивостока с 1994 года. А с 2005 года Ботанический сад проводит День рододендрона. Дело в том, что сорванные в феврале веточки рододендрона зацветают дома в вазе через три недели, что сделало этот куст популярным и почти погубило его.

В самом саду собрана отличная коллекция этого семейства из Японии, Китая, Кореи и Северной Америки.

В Приморье несколько видов рододендронов. Есть стланиковые формы с желтыми цветами, но они растут на макушках гор и с трудом приживаются в долинах. Есть вроде обычный багульник, но с почти махровыми и ярко малиновыми цветами.

Самый красивый — рододендрон Шлиппенбаха растет в Хасанском районе на южных склонах сопок. Его цветки крупнее, до семи сантиметров, чисто белые или кремово-персиковые. Впервые этот рододендрон был найден в Корее и описан русским офицером с фрегата «Паллада» А. Е. Шлиппенбахом, который таким образом увековечил своё имя.

В середине 20 века в Уссурийской тайге на одном единственном отроге Сихотэ-Алиня в верховьях реки Джигитовки была найдена роща необыкновенных деревьев. Ботаники не поверили, когда им рассказали, что в северном Приморье есть вечнозеленое дерево с белыми соцветьями и кожистыми листьями, которые на зиму сворачиваются в трубочку.

Не поверили, пока не увидели своими глазами. Небольшая роща рододендрона Фори отыскалась там, где её быть никак не должно, потому что это дерево растёт в субтропиках. А здесь оно вступило в сообщество с местными видами елей и поэтому не очень-то приживается в других местах, даже южнее.

Цветет этот рододендрон летом, но не каждым, поэтому увидеть его — большая удача.

Приезжайте во Владивосток!

Мы рекомендуем

За городом

«Золотой остров» Аскольд

«Золотой остров» Аскольд

В полусотне километров от Владивостока укрыт туманами Японского моря необитаемый остров Аскольд. Сюда едут за приключениями и «живой» историей.

Парк драконов

Парк драконов

Чудеса природы или следы древних цивилизаций? Такой вопрос задают все, кто впервые попадает в это удивительное место, затерянное в глухой горной тайге.

Гостиничный комплекс «Тёплое море»

Гостиничный комплекс «Тёплое море»

Здесь, вдали от городского шума, на самом юге Приморского края можно круглый год наслаждаться теплой океанской водой. Размещение от 4 000 рублей в сутки за номер класса «Стандарт» до 29 000 рублей за коттедж на 8 человек.