THE NEAR ABROAD

SUNKA

"A chicken is not a bird, and Sunka is not abroad" is a saying in Primorye. For the local inhabitants the "near abroad" is not Belarus or Kazakhstan, but the Chinese border towns, which do not require a visa from Russians for a visit. The most popular place is Suifenhe, until recently a simple border village, but in the past 25 years has grown into a city. It is about 250 km by highway from Vladivostok to Sunka, affectionately known as "that city in Primorye".

There was a surge of "shuttle traders" for Chinese goods here in early 1990's. Today you can purchase not only clothes, household appliances, food products, or auto parts, but also have a good time. On every corner: Cheap Chinese restaurants, hotels, saunas, nightclubs, beauty salons, massage therapists, and acupuncturists. The shop signs are an entertainment all their own (translated from Russian): "Furniture underground city Volodya," "Furry Sasha", "Shop of woolen jumpers", “Beachy", "Everything for health: Tea, Vodka, Books" etc.

Almost everyone in Suifenhe speaks Russian. There are organized Russian courses for merchants and taxi drivers and workshops for officials. The street names are duplicated in Russian. There is even special local lingo. For example, the word for man is turned into "korefan", and woman "kunya". The word "factory" implies the product is of high quality.

The ending price of a transaction can be two to three times lower than the asking price: Bargaining is expected with the Chinese, like in Odessa. Earlier the renminbi and the ruble were often accepted as payment, but now this is officially allowed.

After the ruble's fall in 2014, prices for Chinese goods and services markedly increased, and this has been reflected in the popularity of Suinfenhe (or Khunchunya, as the Russians call it). But Sunka seems to be surviving, being no stranger to difficulties. This city, which began with the shuttle trade, is now focused on neighborly relations with Russia, combining commerce with the service industry and manufacturing. Sunka is evolving, becoming more civilized and hospitable.

Come to Vladivostok!

We recommend

Beyond Vladivostok

Cliff diving

Cliff diving

To overcome the fear of height, enjoy the flight and dive in the sea…of cheerfulness!

Shamora

Shamora

A place known throughout Russia thanks to Mumiy Troll's eponymous album; a 30 to 40-minute drive from Vladivostok awaits this large, sandy beach.

Lotus flowers in Primorye

Lotus flowers in Primorye

Like Hanami, the cherry blossom viewing tradition in Japan, lotus flower viewing is big in Primorye.

Ближнее зарубежье

Сунька

«Курица не птица, Сунька не заграница», — говорят в Приморье. Для здешних жителей «ближнее зарубежье» — не Белоруссия или Казахстан, а приграничные китайские городки, куда можно попасть без визы, по загранпаспорту. Самая популярная точка — Суйфэньхэ, ещё недавно — деревушка на границе, за минувшую четверть века выросшая в полноценный город. От Владивостока до Суньки, как ласково называют этот город в Приморье, — порядка 250 км по автодороге.

Поток «челноков» за китайскими товарами хлынул сюда в начале 1990-х. Сегодня здесь можно не только купить одежду, бытовую технику, продукты или автозапчасти, но и неплохо провести время. На каждом углу — недорогие китайские ресторанчики, гостиницы, сауны, ночные клубы, салоны красоты, массажисты, иглоукалыватели. Отдельное развлечение — разглядывать вывески: «Мебельный подземный город «Володя», «Меховой Саша», «Магазин шерстяных джемперов «Бичи», «Всё для здоровья: чай, водка, книга» и т. д.

Почти каждый житель Суйфэньхэ говорит по-русски. Здесь организованы курсы русского для торговцев и таксистов, мастер-классы для чиновников. Даже названия улиц дублируются по-русски. Есть и особый местный жаргон. Например, к мужчине обращаются «корефан», к женщине — «куня». Под словом «фабрика» подразумевается высокое качество товара.

С китайцами положено торговаться, как в Одессе, — запрошенную цену можно сбить в два-три раза. Здесь и раньше при расчётах зачастую брали не только юани, но и рубли, а теперь это разрешено официально.

После падения рубля в 2014 году цены на китайские товары и услуги заметно выросли, что отразилось на популярности тех же Суйфэньхэ или Хуньчуня у россиян. Но Сунька выкрутится — ей не привыкать. Начинавший с челночной торговли, сегодня этот город, ориентированный на соседские связи с Россией, сочетает коммерцию с индустрией услуг и промышленностью. Сунька развивается, становясь всё цивилизованнее и гостеприимнее.

Предложения по турам в Суйфэньхэ можно найти на самой популярной площадке объявлений Владивостока.

Приезжайте во Владивосток!

Мы рекомендуем

Местный колорит

Авторынок «Зелёный Угол»

Авторынок «Зелёный Угол»

Знаменитая «Зелёнка», где продаются подержанные японские автомобили, — пример стихийной «народной» экономики, которая помогла региону выжить в суровые 90-е.

Что делать, если вы оказались зимой во Владивостоке

Что делать, если вы оказались зимой во Владивостоке

Владивосток не из тех мест, которые с приходом холодов впадают в спячку. Город преображается в зимний курорт, где и на лыжах можно покататься, и хорошо отдохнуть после. Поэтому смело приезжайте, только не забывайте брать с собой солнцезащитные очки.

Ларги — удивительное соседство

Ларги — удивительное соседство

Любоваться этими ми-ми-милыми тюленями нужно, соблюдая простые правила этики: не подходить близко, не кормить, не пугать. Восхищаться и фотографировать с расстояния — разрешается.