WALKING IN VLADIVOSTOK

Route 2. Along the sea.

Taking a stroll through the city center, it is impossible to walk past Vladivostok’s Arbat – the so-called pedestrian section of Admiral Fokin Street – as it is one of the favorite places of Vladivostok residents and tourists alike. In the nineties, due to the many kiosks and stalls selling cheap Chinese consumer goods there, the street was dubbed simply "Commercial" or “Shopping Street.”

However, in the new century, it transformed; the atmosphere itself changed on the street – which descends directly to the sea, into the Sports Harbor. Sparkling fountains, distinctive raised garden beds, and convenient benches appeared. The historic buildings along the street house cozy cafes, trendy shops, and budget hostels.

The Arbat has already established its own traditions: friends get together here; business meetings are conducted and romantic rendezvous take place. In the summer, there are often street performers, and the interior courtyards of “Millionka” – the preserved environs of the early 20th century Chinatown – surely attract fans of historical arcana and oriental exoticism.

Going further down the Arbat will bring you directly onto the “Sport Harbor” Promenade. It is quite possible to dedicate a few hours taking a leisurely walk through this area. The central city beach, a marina with sailboats, the sea breeze, and the outline of Sandy Cape on the other side of the bay – are all there at your disposal.

Strolling along the shore, you can get your portrait done by one of Vladivostok’s remarkable artists, who will complete it literally within thirty minutes. Be sure to keep your eye out for "Tiger Alley" – where on thirteen stone tiles tiger tracks are depicted and the names are written of the countries where these rare cats currently live. The presence of such an alley makes complete sense given that Primorye is Amur (Siberian) Tiger country.

If you are traveling with children, check out the amusement park. There is a carousel and bumping cars for kids, as well as a Ferris wheel that offers a beautiful view of the harbor and downtown. Looking out at Vladivostok from on high, you will see for yourself how hills grace the landscape that this city is spread across.

Just a few steps away from the waterfront is the aquarium (oceanarium) where two exhibition halls are located. (In the first) displayed in glass cases, are collections of seashells, corals, sponges, fish, and a variety of marine animals. In the large round hall, inhabitants of Far Eastern freshwater reservoirs, Peter the Great Bay, and tropical seas are apportioned in thirteen aquaria. In four cold-water aquariums, denizens of the Seas of Japan and Okhotsk are distributed.

To the left of the Oceanarium begins a sweeping staircase that leads to the Vladivostok Fortress Museum. This unique historical site will be intriguing to anyone interested in the naval history of the Russian Far East. The museum also contains a rare collection of bricks produced in Primorskiy factories in the early 20th century.

After a long walk in the fresh sea air, being hungry would be no wonder. Well guess what? Right on the roof of the oceanarium is an outdoor cafe overlooking the sea. The menu, of course, has seafood delicacies and Primorskiy gastronomic specialties.

You could finish this essentially maritime walk here on the waterfront - sitting in a cafe, or just on the pier watching the sunset. Or … you could venture farther down Batareynaya Street, turn off on Pogranichniy, and wind up in Sister Cities Square where they have installed a row of eleven marble arches and written on each, in Russian and English, the name of one of Vladivostok’s twin cities. You can also use Wi-Fi there for free.

The walls of the buildings surrounding this square became a platform for the works of world-famous graffiti artists. In 2013, American Gabriel Spector depicted a DNA molecule as a symbol of the connection among all people on Earth. Japanese artist Yuma created black and white graffiti with the words "Underwater Party." And New York painter Gaia drew a bright tiger on the wall, protected by human hands. Adjacent to the square is the bar "Mumiy Troll" – definitely go in there if you want to hear music with great club sound. The cuisine here, by the way, is multinational.

Come to Vladivostok!

We recommend

History and Culture

ARKA GALLERY OF CONTEMPORARY ART

ARKA GALLERY OF CONTEMPORARY ART

A private gallery, open since 1995, and well known in the country's art community, in many ways guiding the artistic philosophy of the city's young artists.

Zarya center for contemporary art

Zarya center for contemporary art

Visit an exhibition of contemporary art, work, relax, read and simply chat with creative people.

Organ Concerts

Organ Concerts

The only one in the (Russian) Far East — not inferior to counterparts in New York.

ПЕШКОМ ПО ВЛАДИВОСТОКУ

МАРШРУТ № 2. Вдоль моря.

Гуляя пешком по центру города, невозможно пройти мимо владивостокского Арбата. Так называется пешеходная часть улицы Адмирала Фокина — место, любимое не только жителями Владивостока, но и туристами. В девяностые годы из-за многочисленных киосков и ларьков, где продавался недорогой китайский ширпотреб, эту улицу окрестили попросту «Торговой».

Но в новом веке она преобразилась, изменилась сама атмосфера этой улицы, идущей прямо к морю — на Спортивную гавань. Тут появились искристые фонтаны, оригинальные клумбы и удобные скамейки. В исторических зданиях вдоль улицы действуют уютные кофейни, модные магазины и бюджетные хостелы.

На Арбате уже установились свои традиции: здесь встречаются с друзьями, устраивают деловые встречи и любовные свидания. Летом часто выступают уличные музыканты. А любителей исторических тайн и восточной экзотики наверняка привлекут внутренние дворики Миллионки, где сохранился антураж китайских кварталов начала 20-го века.

Спускаясь по Арбату вниз, вы попадете прямиком на Набережную Спортивной гавани. Этому месту вполне можно посвятить несколько часов неспешной прогулки. Центральный городской пляж, море с яхтами, морской ветер, очертания мыса Песчаный на той стороне заливе — все это в вашем распоряжении.

Прогуливаясь вдоль моря, вы сможете заказать свой портрет у замечательных владивостокских художников, который будет исполнен буквально за тридцать минут. И непременно обратите внимание на «Тигриную аллею», где на тринадцати плитах изображены следы тигров и написано название страны, в которых сегодня обитают эти редкие кошки. Появление такой аллеи вполне понятно, ведь Приморье — это страна амурского тигра.

Если вы путешествуете с детьми, загляните в Парк аттракционов. Для детей там карусели, автодром, а с колеса обозрения открывается прекрасный вид на центральную часть города и гавань. Взглянув на Владивосток с высоты, вы лишний раз убедитесь, как украшают городской ландшафт сопки, на которых он раскинулся.

Буквально в двух шагах от набережной находится Океанариум, где расположены два экспозиционных зала. В витринах представлены коллекции морских раковин, кораллов, губок, рыб и самых разнообразных морских животных. В большом круглом зале в тринадцати аквариумах размещены обитатели пресноводных водоёмов Дальнего Востока, залива Петра Великого, тропических морей. А в четырёх холодноводных аквариумах размещены обитатели Японского и Охотского морей.

А слева от Океанариума начинается широкая лестница, которая ведет к музею Владивостокская крепость. Этот уникальный исторический объект будет интересен всем, кто интересуется военно-морской историей Дальнего Востока. А еще в музее собрана редкая коллекция кирпичей, изготовленных на заводах Приморья в начале 20-го века.

После долгой прогулки на свежем морском воздухе немудрено и проголодаться. Так вот, прямо на крыше Океанариума есть летнее кафе с видом на море. В меню, конечно же, морские деликатесы и приморские гастрономические блюда.

Можно завершить эту морскую по сути прогулку здесь же на набережной — сидя в кафе или прямо на пирсе любуясь закатом… А можно отправиться дальше по улице Батарейной и выйти на Пограничную, а затем свернуть в Сквер городов-побратимов. Здесь в ряд установлены одиннадцать мраморных арок, на каждой из которых на русском и английском языках написано название одного из городов-побратимов Владивостока. Здесь же можно воспользоваться бесплатным wi-fi.

Стены зданий, прилегающие к скверу, стали площадкой для произведений знаменитых на весь мир художников граффити. Так, в 2013 году американец Габриэль Спектор изобразил здесь молекулу ДНК, как символ связи всех людей планеты. Японский художник Yuma создал черно-белое граффити с надписью «Подводная вечеринка». А автор из Нью-Йорка Гайя нарисовал на стене яркого тигра, защищенного руками человека.

По соседству со сквером расположен бар «Мумий Тролль», непременно отправляйтесь туда, если хочется музыки с отличным клубным звуком. Кухня здесь, кстати, мультинациональная.

Приезжайте во Владивосток!

Мы рекомендуем

Культурный отдых

Приморская государственная картинная галерея

Приморская государственная картинная галерея

Шедевры мирового изобразительного искусства и жемчужины с местным колоритом.

Музей им. Арсеньева

Музей им. Арсеньева

Музей, созданный в 19 веке, «упаковали» в соответствии с требованиями современности и сделали частью активной общественной жизни.

Фестиваль V-ROX

Фестиваль V-ROX

Праздник музыки и творческого общения, открывающий миру новые имена.