TO THE GLORY OF GOD

THE CHURCHES OF VLADIVOSTOK

The nationalities of Vladivostok and Primorye residents at the beginnings of the region’s history are extremely varied. The region was populated by resettlement from different parts of the Russian Empire: Ukraine, Moldova, the Baltic States, Poland, and Finland. Citizens from many foreign countries actively participated in developing the area, which led to a group of citizens with a patchwork of religious beliefs.

However, constructing churches requires significant financial resources, which generally only the Christian community could afford: Russian Orthodox, Catholics and Protestants. There are individual churches built before the Russian revolution, which avoided destruction and survived the socialist era (during which time they were not used as churches but for various other purposes), still standing today. There are numerous others built in the past 25 years.

RUSSIAN ORTHODOX CHURCHES

There are about 40 Russian Orthodox chapels in Vladivostok. The biggest and most majestic is the Church of the Intercession of the Mother of God.

The first church in honor of the Intercession of the Mother of God was built in 1902 on the territory of the town cemetery, the resting place of several generations of Vladivostok and Primorye residents. The five-domed Church of the Intercession was designed for seven hundred people. After the establishment of Soviet power in 1923, the cemetery was closed. In 1934, construction began on a city culture and recreation park. A year later, the Church of the Intercession was blown up.

Bricks from the destroyed church were used in construction of the Pedagogical Institute (the future Far Eastern National University). The twisted five-meter staircase that led to the church's bell tower was moved to the boiler room of the combined heating and power plant. A monument to Lenin was built on the foundation of the demolished church.

Donations were collected in 1991 to restore the Church of the Intercession. However, its construction was delayed for various reasons. Finally, construction began in September 2004. In March 2007, 10 bells were consecrated, and installed in the bell tower on April 3, with the largest weighing 1,300 kg.

The new church can seat up to 1,000 people, and its appearance is as close as possible to the five-domed original. The Church Square is 600 square meters, and its height with the cross is 40 meters.

CATHOLIC CHURCH OF THE MOST HOLY MOTHER OF GOD

There were many Polish residents of Vladivostok in the late 19th to early 20th century. In 1890 in the South Primorye region, 2,610 people stated Polish was their native language. Of these, 954 were in Vladivostok. Beginning in 1885, small wooden churches were built in the city, and it was not until 1909 that construction was begun on a large Catholic church. The neo-gothic style building was designed by Andrew Gvozdievsky in 1921 and to this day is a real gem of Vladivostok, giving a unique view of the multicultural city.

The church served the Catholic believers of Vladivostok until 1935, when it was closed. The church then housed the Primorsky Kray State Archives. The church's interior was rebuilt, the interior decor and unique stained glass windows destroyed.

It was only in 1993 that the former Catholic church was transferred to the Catholic diocese of Vladivostok. On January 1, 1994, in solemnity of the Most Holy Mary, Mother of God the Catholic parish was finally handed the keys to the church. The church's restoration and reconstruction lasted until 2010.

The highlight of the church is a pipe organ, whose sound creates an indescribable atmosphere.

ST. PAUL'S LUTHERAN CHURCH

Built from 1907 to 1909 by the German architect Georg Junghendel, the church is a wonderful example of Gothic architecture. The Lutheran community of Vladivostok was plentiful and very influential, consisting of the higher ranks of the officer corps, business leaders, and government officials.

There were many Lutherans, whose names are inextricably linked with the city's history.

Architect George Junghendel with this building exemplified the classic look of a church in the style of late Gothic Northern-European architecture. The kirch (German for the church) was built on a hill, and has become a unique architectural crown of Pushkinskaya Street. The principal amount to construct the church, made of brick brought from Germany, was paid for by the Kunst and Albers trading company.

In 1935 the church was closed. At different times, the church was used as a club for elders of the Pacific Fleet, the Gorky Cinema, and the Military History Museum of the Pacific Fleet. Weapons and military equipment exhibits were placed at the entrance of the church, and children often came to the Lutheran church to "climb on the gun".

On September 16, 1997, the historic church on 14 Pushkinskaya Street was transferred to the community for free and unlimited use. In that same year, Germany awarded it the status of "Monument of German Culture Abroad".

Currently, the church of St. Paul is one of Vladivostok's cultural centers. Organ concerts and charity events are held here in addition to church services.

Come to Vladivostok!

We recommend

History and Culture

Zarya center for contemporary art

Zarya center for contemporary art

Visit an exhibition of contemporary art, work, relax, read and simply chat with creative people.

Organ Concerts

Organ Concerts

The only one in the (Russian) Far East — not inferior to counterparts in New York.

Sightseeing bureau "City Time"

Sightseeing bureau "City Time"

Discover Vladivostok through our bus, cycle, and — best of all — walking tours, led by the most knowledgeable tour guides in the city.

Во славу господа

Храмы Владивостока

Национальный состав жителей Владивостока и Приморья на заре его истории был чрезвычайно разнообразен. Переселение в край шло из различных уголков Российской Империи: Украины, Молдавии, Прибалтики, Польши, Финляндии. В освоении новых земель активно принимали участие и граждане многих иностранных государств, в связи с чем и конфессиональный состав жителей города был достаточно пёстрым.

Однако строительство храмов требовало значительных финансовых средств, поэтому капитальные религиозные сооружения могли себе позволить только христианские общины: православные, католики и протестанты. Единичные храмы, построенные ещё в дореволюционную пору и избежавшие разрушения, пережив эпоху социализма в качестве помещений различного назначения, сохранились до сегодняшнего дня. Другие, более многочисленные, были возведены за последние 25 лет.

Православные храмы

Во Владивостоке около 40 православных церквей и часовен. Самый большой и величественный из них —  Храм Покрова Божьей Матери.

Первый Храм в честь Покрова Божьей Матери был построен в 1902 году на территории городского кладбища, которое было местом упокоения нескольких поколений владивостокцев и приморцев. Пятиглавый Покровский храм был рассчитан на семьсот человек. После установления советской власти в 1923 году кладбище было закрыто. В 1934 году здесь началось строительство городского парка культуры и отдыха. Еще через год храм Покрова был взорван.

Кирпич взорванного храма использовали при строительстве Педагогического института (будущего ДВГУ), витая 5-метровая лестница, которая вела на колокольню церкви, была перенесена на ТЭЦ и использовалась в котельном цехе. На фундаменте снесённой Покровской церкви был установлен памятник Ленину.

В 1991 году был объявлен сбор пожертвований на возрождение Покровского храма. Однако его строительство в силу разных причин откладывалось. Наконец, в сентябре 2004 года оно началось. В марте 2007-ого были освящены 10 колоколов, а 3 апреля они были установлены на колокольне. Вес самого большого из них — 1 300 кг.

Новый храм вмещает до 1 000 человек, а его внешний вид максимально приближен к пятиглавому первообразу. Площадь храма — 600 квадратных метров, а его высота вместе с крестом — 40 метров.

Католическая церковь Пресвятой Богородицы

Во Владивостоке в конце XIX — начале ХХ века жило много поляков. В 1890 году на юге Приморской области 2 610 человек назвали польский язык родным, из них 954 человек находились во Владивостоке. Начиная с 1885 года в нашем городе строились небольшие деревянные костелы, пока в 1909 году не началось возведение большой католической церкви. Здание в неоготическом стиле было построено по проекту Андрея Гвоздиевского лишь в 1921 году и до сих пор является настоящим украшением Владивостока, придавая ему уникальный вид поликультурного города.

Костёл служил приходом для владивостокских католиков до 1935 года, а потом был закрыт. В дальнейшем в его помещении разместили Государственный Архив Приморского края. Внутреннее пространство храма было перестроено, элементы внутреннего декора, уникальные витражи уничтожены.

Только в 1993 году здание бывшего католического храма было передано католической парафии Владивостока. 1 января 1994 г. на торжество Пресвятой Богородицы католическому приходу вручили долгожданные ключи от дверей храма. Восстановление и реконструкция храма продолжалась до 2010 года.

Изюминкой костёла является духовой орган, звучание которого придает пространству храма непередаваемую атмосферу.

Лютеранская церковь Святого Павла

Прекрасный образец готической архитектуры. Построен в период с 1907 по 1909 год по проекту немецкого архитектора Георга Юнгхенделя. Лютеранская община Владивостока была многочисленна и очень влиятельна. В нее входили высшие чины офицерского корпуса, крупные предприниматели, чиновники.

Лютеранами были многие люди, чье имя неразрывно связано с историей города.

Архитектор Георг Юнгхендель воплотил в этой церкви классический облик храма в стиле позднеготической архитектуры севера Европы. Кирха была возведена на возвышенности, почему и стала своеобразным архитектурным венцом улицы Пушкинской. Основную сумму на строительство церкви из кирпича, который был доставлен из Германии, внесла торговая фирма «Кунст и Альберс».

В 1935 году церковь закрыли. В разное время здесь находился клуб старшин Тихоокеанского флота, кинотеатр имени Горького, Военно-исторический музей Тихоокеанского Флота. Перед входом в церковь стояли орудия и военная техника в качестве экспонатов, и дети часто приходили к кирхе «полазить на пушках».

16 сентября 1997 года историческое здание церкви на ул. Пушкинской, 14 было передано общине в безвозмездное и бессрочное пользование. В том же году Германия присвоила ей статус «Памятник немецкой культуры за рубежом».

В настоящее время церковь Святого Павла является одним из культурных центров во Владивостоке. Помимо церковных служб здесь проходят органные концерты и благотворительные мероприятия.

Приезжайте во Владивосток!

Мы рекомендуем

Достопримечательности

Медицинский центр ДВФУ

Медицинский центр ДВФУ

Высокотехнологичная клиника Владивостока, в которой на мировом уровне лечат самые серьезные заболевания.

Набережные Владивостока

Набережные Владивостока

Что такое «набка»? Это — любая из четырёх прекрасных набережных Владивостока, где вы можете почувствовать дыхание моря и биение пульса города.

Памятник Василию Ощепкову

Памятник Василию Ощепкову

Родина российского дзюдо