SPOTTED SEALS

SEALS

Seals are charming, independent, and very curious, but cautious.

A few years ago, most residents had no idea that marine animals inhabited the areas near Vladivostok, and now the question is often asked: "Why have seals recently become more interactive with people?" In reality, they are not swimming towards people, but to their homes: seals must rest on the shore, and they are always found on Russian Island and on the Tokarevskaya Koshka sandbar in Vladivostok; places which in recent years have become very popular, increasing the interaction.

The seals probably enjoy these interactions far less than we do. It is hard to know; seals do not write about their experiences on Facebook.

Lora Beloivan artist, writer, and director of the Center for the Rehabilitation of Marine Mammals:

— The proximity of man and marine animals is normal and familiar in a world in which a seal's personal space was respected earlier than ours. The rules of coexistence are simple: It is fine to enjoy the animals, but we can not approach them closely; You can stand 15 meters away, but you must not shout and wave your arms; You can take pictures, but you must not try to feed them or, God forbid, pet them

— These are basic requirements of simple ethics in circumstances where two different species have to live side by side when one of them considers himself more advanced.

There is only one species of marine mammal consistently found in Peter the Great Bay: Seals. This particular type of spotted seal is very widespread: found in the vast territory of Primorye to Chukotka.

Marine biologists distinguish four main populations of spotted seals. Representatives of the southern-most and smallest in number live near us, numbering only 2.5 thousand. The main southern herd of spotted seals lives on the Rimsky-Korsakov Archipelago, which is part of the Far East State Marine Reserve. Spotted seals breed in February and March. Mothers feed their pups for only 4-5 weeks, then send their babies off to begin an independent life.

Come to Vladivostok!

We recommend

Nature and Animals

WINTERING EAGLES

WINTERING EAGLES

In the winter you can see eagles in Vladivostok's city center. These majestic birds get their food from the ice-free water of the Zolotoy Rog Bay.

SUP-surfing

SUP-surfing

Visit the most hidden away corners of the coast, raft rivers, and ride waves ... standing on a SUP-board! Accessible, sporting, and meditative – SUP has become a popular summer activity in our city.

The beaches of Vladivostok

The beaches of Vladivostok

The sea is all around Vladivostok, as are the beaches where you can relax during the sunny days of summer. There are several places within the city limits, and getting to them is easy: by bus, by train or by car.

Пятнистые тюлени

Ларги

Ларги — обаятельные, независимые, очень любознательные, но осторожные тюлени.

Еще несколько лет назад большинство горожан понятия не имело о том, что рядом с Владивостоком обитают морские животные, и сейчас довольно часто слышишь вопрос: «почему тюлени в последнее время стали так часто приплывать к людям?». На самом деле, они приплывают не к людям, а к себе: отдых на побережье необходим тюленям, и их всегда можно было встретить и на острове Русском, и на косе Токаревской кошки во Владивостоке, просто все эти места в последние годы стали очень популярными у горожан, вот и увеличилось количество встреч.

Наверное, тюленям эти встречи нравятся меньше, чем людям, но ларги не пишут о своих впечатлениях в фейсбуке.

Лора Белоиван: художник, писатель, директор Центра реабилитации морских млекопитающих:

«Вообще, соседство человека и морского зверя дело нормальное и привычное в том мире, в котором уважать личное пространство тюленей начали чуть раньше, чем у нас. Правила подобного общежития просты: можно любоваться отдыхающими животными, но нельзя подходить к ним близко; можно стоять в 15 метрах, но нельзя кричать и размахивать руками; можно фотографировать, но нельзя пытаться накормить или, упаси Господи, погладить.

Это очень элементарные требования элементарной этики поведения в условиях, когда двум разным биологическим видам приходится жить бок о бок и когда один из них полагает себя более продвинутым».

В заливе Петра Великого постоянно обитает только один вид морских млекопитающих: ларга. Это вид пятнистого тюленя, распространен очень широко: ларги водятся на обширной территории от Приморья до Чукотки включительно.

Морские биологи выделяют 4 основные популяции ларги, и рядом с нами живут представители самой южной и самой же малочисленной, насчитывающей всего до 2,5 тысячи особей. Основная «южная» залежка ларг находится на островах Римского-Корсакова. Этот архипелаг входит в состав Дальневосточного морского государственного заповедника. Размножаются ларги в феврале–марте, 4–5 недель самки кормят щенков, после чего малыши начинают самостоятельную жизнь.

Приезжайте во Владивосток!

Мы рекомендуем

Местный колорит

Международный автосалон Владивосток (VIAS)

Международный автосалон Владивосток (VIAS)

Выставка новинок автопрома, торжество тюнинга, совершенство автозвука и головокружительное crash show в техническом Диснейленде Дальнего Востока.

День тигра

День тигра

Чествование тотемного животного региона: в этот день дресс-код — тигриный!

Парусники

Парусники

Аристократы морской стихии, два гордых красавца — фрегаты «Паллада» и «Надежда».