MYSTERIOUS

UNDERGROUND VLADIVOSTOK

Vladivostok has no subway system, but the city's underground is just as interesting in it's own way. The city is like an iceberg, with the underwater (underground) is no less impressive than the surface.

A large part of the underground, this urban spawn, and the root system of the city, links to parts of the Vladivostok Fortress, built in the early 20th century. In addition to the forts and batteries scattered throughout the city, there are vaults, passageways, warehouses, etc. And the military construction continues further, on to the Voroshilov battery on Russian Island. The ground floor has been turned into a museum, dating back the 1930s, with a number of Pacific Fleet's "buried" objects to the 1970s.

The bomb shelter is yet another part of Vladivostok's underground. There are catacombs and, for strictly peaceful purposes, a tunnel named after Stalin connecting the 3rd Rabochy and Lugovoy areas (originally also built for the military as a cover for Pacific Fleet railway batteries), underground water reservoirs, drainage channels, etc.

One of the most interesting underground places is Vladivostok-2. This bomb shelter, evacuation system, and simultaneous back-up control center for Primorye was set up in the early 1940s in the city's center (near the Gorky Theater). The underground passages connected shelter-seekers from the regional committee for the All Union Communist Party, NKVD leaders, and the Zolotoy Rog docks.

Visitors to Vladivostok's underground areas include activists, and the Vladivostok Digger Club, who have long been involved in the professional study of this urban sanctuary's subsoil. Today the club is not just for excursions and local history, but also for public control of historical and cultural monuments. The Diggers have even rescued a few such monuments from destruction.

Vladivostok's underground has inspired many legends. The most famous one is about an underwater tunnel on Russian Island, which supposedly separates into two cargo trucks. Experts from time to time debunk these myths, yet they live on. And so they should: with legends it is more interesting.

+7 (902) 555-20-86
vladdig.org/

Come to Vladivostok!

We recommend

Tourist Attractions

Walking in Vladivostok, route 1 (historical)

Walking in Vladivostok, route 1 (historical)

Each guest of Vladivostok should experience this route: fascinating, not long, but rich with impressions.

Secret places, where the locals go

Secret places, where the locals go

From a secret bar and cinema to student coworking and a second-hand store.

Retaining walls

Retaining walls

Murals on retaining walls have become a new creative trend in Vladivostok.

Загадочный

Подземный Владивосток

Во Владивостоке нет метро, но городские подземелья по своему размаху не уступают метрополитену. Владивосток — город-айсберг, подводная (подземная) часть которого впечатляет не меньше, чем видимая.

Немалая часть подземелий — этой градостроительной грибницы, корневой системы города — связана с объектами Владивостокской крепости, построенными в начале ХХ века. Помимо фортов и батарей, рассыпанных по всему городу, это погреба, галереи, склады и др. Военное строительство продолжалось и позже. Так, Ворошиловская батарея на о. Русском, подземные этажи которой превращены в музей, относится к 1930-м годам, ряд «заглубленных» объектов ТОФ — к 1970-м.

Другая часть подземного Владивостока — бомбоубежища. Есть «катакомбы» и сугубо мирного назначения — тоннель имени Сталина, связывающий районы 3-й Рабочей и Луговой (хотя изначально он тоже строился как объект военный — для укрытия железнодорожных батарей ТОФ), подземные водохранилища, коллекторы и т. д.

Одно из самых интересных подземелий — «Владивосток-2». Это бомбоубежище, система эвакуации и одновременно запасной пункт управления Приморьем, обустроенные в центре города (возле театра имени Горького) в начале 1940-х. Подземные ходы связывали убежище с крайкомом ВКП(б), управлением НКВД и причалами Золотого Рога.

Сталкеры подземной Зоны — активисты Владивостокского диггер-клуба, давно и профессионально изучающие потаённые городские недра. Сегодня клуб — это не только экскурсии и краеведение, но и общественный контроль состояния памятников истории и культуры. Некоторые из них именно диггеры спасли от разорения.

С владивостокскими подземельями связана масса легенд. Самая известная — о подводном тоннеле на остров Русский, в котором будто бы разъезжаются два «Урала». Хотя специалисты время от времени разоблачают эти мифы, в народе они по-прежнему живут. Да и пусть. С легендами — интереснее.

Приезжайте во Владивосток!

Мы рекомендуем

Местный колорит

Ханами по-приморски

Ханами по-приморски

Наслаждение цветущими деревьями как альтернатива бесконечному движению.

Цветение багульника

Цветение багульника

Багульник для нас — как для японцев сакура. Официальный и самый прекрасный символ Владивостока, которым можно любоваться бесконечно.

Что делать, если вы оказались зимой во Владивостоке?

Что делать, если вы оказались зимой во Владивостоке?

Владивосток не из тех мест, которые с приходом холодов впадают в спячку. Город преображается в зимний курорт, где и на лыжах можно покататься, и хорошо отдохнуть после. Поэтому смело приезжайте, только не забывайте брать с собой солнцезащитные очки.