The Triumphal Gates of Nikolai, given the name "The Arch of the Crown Prince" by townspeople, is located in city's center near Korabelnaya Naberezhnaya.
The monument's history begins in January 1891, when the city became aware of the impending visit of heir-to-the-throne Crown Prince Nikolas Aleksandrovich Romanov. The Vladivostok City Duma, upon considering the preparations necessary for meeting their distinguished guest, decided to build "stone triumphal gates" in his honor.
The project was designed by Vladimir Konovalov, the city architect. Construction began in March of that year. The city allocated 5,000 rubles and the Merchant Society an additional 4,000. The Triumphal Arch was built in the "Russian Style," typical of similar buildings of the late 19th and early 20th century. The Arch symbolized the Vladivostok sea gates, through which the future Emperor would solemnly pass to enter the city. And that is exactly how it happened: On May 12, 1891, Mayor Makovsky met Crown Prince Nicholas with the traditional bread and salt on a silver platter.
During the Soviet Era the Triumphal Arch underwent several changes. In 1923, all monarchial symbols were removed, and it was renamed the Komsomol Arch. And in 1930, the Arch was dismantled, considered of no artistic value, as it interfered with street traffic along Pervovo Maya Street.
In 1998, Aleksandr Yermolaev, a well-known Vladivostok businessman, decided to use his own funds to recreate the Arch, and the Arch began its second life. Since the original blueprints had not been preserved, the Arch was reconstructed using old photographs, historical archives, and literary sources. The Arch's grand re-opening was held on May 16, 2003.
Today, the Triumphal Arch of the Crown Prince and the surrounding areas are popular places for tourists and city residents: the City Museum and the Memorial Complex on Korabelnaya Naberezhnaya are just steps away.
If you liked this article, share it with friends:
Visit an exhibition of contemporary art, work, relax, read and simply chat with creative people.
Arbat (Admiral Fokin Street) – Waterfront Sports Harbor – Aquarium (Oceanarium) – Museum "Vladivostok Fortress" – Batareynaya Street – Sister Cities Square – Music Bar "Mumiy Troll"
Masterpieces of world class fine art and pearls with a local hue.