SUMMER FISHING

IN AND AROUND VLADIVOSTOK

  • Text: Andrey Haustov

Fishing during the warmer months in Vladivostok certainly draws a smaller crowd than in the winter. This is simply because in the winter you can reach the water on foot, and summer requires special gear for for spearfishing. Nevertheless, people fish and the catch is quite diverse.

Herring spawn from March to May in Peter the Great Gulf. Although the law prohibits catching them during spawning, herring fat with roe and milt are still displayed in the markets.

After the ice recedes, sea breams are caught on their way to spawn in the Suifenhe (or Razdolnaya) River. Dark flounder and pollack lurk in the Stark Strait and Russian Island bays. The season begins in May for Pacific redfin and Japanese smelt, which are also beginning to spawn. The smelt swarm in coastal waves, and are often called „surfers„. Catching them is as easy as dipping a net, although this is prohibited by law. “Surfers" pair well with cherry salmon. You can try to catch them in a boat using a spinning reel; however, should you succeed, consider it luck. In late May, spawned sea bream return from the rivers to the sea. The sea bream, in contrast to salmon, feel great after this process. This fish can be caught using earth and sea worms.

In the summer when the water temperature warms, mullet migrate to Amur Bay from the southern latitudes. They can often be seen jumping out of the water. Completely calm, sailing through the air and landing with a loud splash, it is a magical spectacle to observe! This is a very cautious fish, and not easy to catch with bait or a speargun. In Tavrichanka, the locals use a net to herd the mullet and then scoop them up in the shallows.

From time to time, but not every year, the Amur Bay sees runs of large cod, herring and Pacific redfin. The waters of the bay during these times are filled with fleets of small vessels: boats, cutters, and yachts with numerous fishing rods visible from all sides. And fishermen dot the shores and piers.

SQUID

In August, there is little fishing in the coastal waters of the Amur Bay. Most fish species have retreated to cooler, more oxygen-rich depths. However, this is the best time for squid fishing. Fishing is done at night, far from the shore. At one time, the tackle used for squid fishing was very primitive, and shiny like a stainless steel spoon. Today, specialty shops offer a wide variety of specialty gear for catching these cephalopods. The squid are caught from boats, sometimes even with the help of sonar. Squid trolling is, of course, much easier than fishing; however, it has its own nuances: You must be able to choose the right place, find the depth, choose bait of the right size, color, and lure shape, choose the right jig weight (which depends on the force of the current and the depth the squid is at when it bites).

It is a rather dangerous way to fish: anchored boats next to one another, each shining a light into the water which attracts young fish, which in turn are hunted by squid.

For the residents of Vladivostok, squid fishing is a favorite activity, which attracts families, large companies, and even entire workforces. Squid is enjoyed in delicious salads, prepared on the grill, and pan-fried, stuffed, dried, made into jerky, smoked, etc.

SPEARFISHING

Spearfishing is loved no less by the residents of Vladivostok than regular fishing. However, it requires physical fitness, skill and equipment. In addition, the spearfishing season is limited from June to October. But, there are extreme athletes who are ready to dive almost as soon as the ice recedes. The main objects of spearfishing in Vladivostok are Atka mackerel, greenling, Shlegel's black rockfish, and perch. Perhaps the most coveted trophy is the amberjack. Schools of these fish, weighing up to 15 kg, come into the waters of Peter the Great Bay from the south.

In addition to fish, octopus, scallops, oysters, mussels and sea urchin are trophies for spearfishers. You can catch a sea cucumber, but it is against the law and may result in serious fines or even criminal charges.

Come to Vladivostok!

We recommend

Nature and Animals

WINTERING EAGLES

WINTERING EAGLES

In the winter you can see eagles in Vladivostok's city center. These majestic birds get their food from the ice-free water of the Zolotoy Rog Bay.

The beaches of Vladivostok

The beaches of Vladivostok

The sea is all around Vladivostok, as are the beaches where you can relax during the sunny days of summer. There are several places within the city limits, and getting to them is easy: by bus, by train or by car.

SUP-surfing

SUP-surfing

Visit the most hidden away corners of the coast, raft rivers, and ride waves ... standing on a SUP-board! Accessible, sporting, and meditative – SUP has become a popular summer activity in our city.

Летняя рыбалка

Во Владивостоке и окрестностях

  • Текст: Андрей Хаустов

Рыбалка в теплое время года во Владивостоке, конечно, менее массовая по сравнению с зимней. Просто потому, что зимой в акваторию можно выйти пешком, а летом для этого требуется плавстредство или «снаряга» для подводной охоты. Но тем не менее рыбу ловят и самую разнообразную.

С марта по май в заливе Петра Великого идёт нерест сельди. И хотя ловить ее во время нереста запрещено законом, на рынках можно увидеть жирную селедку с икрой и молоками.

После схода льда ловят и зубаря, который идет на нерест в Суйфун (р. Раздольная). В проливе Старка и бухтах о. Русский — темную камбалу и минтая. В мае начинается сезон красноперки и малоротой корюшки, которые тоже стремятся на нерест. Последняя просто кишит в прибрежных волнах, за что ее часто называют «прибойкой» и просто черпают сачками, хотя это и запрещено законом. «Прибойкой» с удовольствием лакомится сима. Эту царь-рыбу можно попробовать поймать с лодки на спининг, правда, это будет большой удачей. В конце мая из рек обратно в море выходит отнерестившийся зубарь, который, в отличие о лососёвых, чувствует себя после этого процесса прекрасно. Его ловят на земляного и морского червя.

Летом, когда вода прогревается, в Амурский залив из южных широт приходит кефаль. Её можно часто увидеть, выпрыгивающую из воды. При полном штиле, высоко взлетающая и падающая с громким всплеском кефаль — феерическое зрелище! Рыба эта очень острожная. Добыть ее на удочку или с подводным ружьем нелегко. В Тавричанке местные жители загоняют кефаль в сети, устраивая настоящие облавы на косяки этой рыбы на мелководье.

Время от времени, далеко не каждый год, случаются заходы в Амурский залив косяков крупной наваги, краснопёрки и сельди. Тогда в акватории залива можно наблюдать целые флотилии маломерных судов: лодок, катеров и яхт, со всех бортов которых видны многочисленные удочки. Ловят с берега и пирсов.

Кальмар

В августе рыбалки в прибрежных водах Амурского залива почти нет. Большинство видов рыб уходит на глубину, где вода более прохладная и насыщена кислородом. Но это время — лучшее для ловли кальмара. Ловят его ночью, достаточно далеко от берега. Когда-то снасти, на которые ловили кальмар, были весьма примитивными — обычные блестящие «ложки» из нержавеющей стали. Сегодня специализированные магазины предлагают великое множество разнообразных приспособлений для ловли головоногих. Ловят с лодок, иногда даже с применением эхолотов, чтобы засечь скопления кальмаров. Ловить кальмар, конечно, гораздо легче чем рыбу, но и тут есть свои тонкости: нужно уметь выбрать место, найти глубину, подобрать ловчую кальмарницу, размер, цвет, форму приманки, вес грузовой кальмарницы в зависимости от силы течения и того, на какой глубине «берётся» кальмар.

Достаточно опасный способ рыбалки — рядом со стоящими на рейде судами, свет огней которых привлекает молодь рыбы, на которую, в свою очередь, охотится кальмар.

Для жителей Владивостока ловля кальмара — одно из любимейших занятий. На неё выезжают семьями, большими компаниями и целыми трудовыми коллективами. Из кальмара готовят вкуснейшие салаты, его жарят на гриле и сковороде, фаршируют, сушат, вялят, коптят и т. д.

Подводная охота

Подводная охота не менее любима владивостокцами, чем обычная рыбалка. Правда, она требует определённой физической подготовки, навыков и наличия снаряжения. К тому же, сезон подводной рыбалки ограничен по времени с июня по октябрь. Есть и экстремалы, готовые нырять чуть только сойдет лёд. Главные объекты подводной охоты во Владивостоке — ленки, терпуги, серые ерши, окуни. Пожалуй, самый желанный трофей — лакедра. Стаи этих рыб, достигающих веса до 15 кг, заходят в акваторию залива Петра Великого с юга.

Помимо рыбы, трофеями подводных охотников являются осьминоги, а также моллюски — гребешок, устрицы и мидии, морской ёж. «Поднимают» и трепанга, но это — нарушение закона и чревато серьезными штрафами, а то и привлечением к уголовной ответственности.

Приезжайте во Владивосток!

Мы рекомендуем

Спорт и экстрим

Кайтинг

Кайтинг

Слишком сложно? Опасно? Дорого? Пока большинство горожан мыслят этими стереотипами, сотни «ветрозависимых» владивостокцев получают огромное удовольствие круглый год в одном из лучших в России и во всей Восточной Азии мест для занятий кайтингом.

Марафоны Владивостока

Марафоны Владивостока

Беговые марафоны становятся неотъемлемой частью самых крупных городов мира. В настоящее время мировой тренд активно внедряется и в России. Владивосток входит в четверку российских городов, наряду с Москвой, Санкт-Петербургом и Омском, лидирующих в проведении массовых забегов.

Аэротруба LETIM

Аэротруба LETIM

Опыт прыжка с парашютом…но без парашюта.