Shamora

OUR COTE D'AZUR

This word became known to Russians with the release of the 1998 album by the group Mumiy Troll called "Shamora" the uninitiated place the emphasis on the second syllable, not really understanding what the word is all about. But in Vladivostok, the emphasis is placed on the "sha" Shamora is a favorite vacation spot.

Strictly speaking, Shamora, a small cove in Ussuri Bay about 30 km from Vladivostok, is officially called Lazurnaya (meaning Azure). Its old name was changed during the campaign in 1972 to rid Primorye from all Chinese and non-Russian names, a kind of philological echo of the fighting in 1969 on Damansky Island. However, even more than 40 years later, it is only called Lazurnaya in official documents. But to the people it is still Shamora.

It is believed that the word Shamora means "sandy desert" There is truly a great deal of sand there, but in the summer Shamora is far from a desert. The beach is filled with vacationers, cars, cafes (the famous "U Grachika" and many others). Here people fly planes and gliders, jump on trampolines, and go windsurfing.

The bay does not freeze in the winter, and is half-open to the Sea of Japan, which brings Shamora serious ocean groundswells with regularity. It is host to "Primorskie Struny" a string festival, and subsequently, "ShamRock".

In the wintertime, Shamora is nearly empty but the winter recreation base Komet operates nearby. For history lovers, the dugout of Sergei Lazo is hidden in the woods, where he concealed himself from the White Guards and the Japanese.

Shamora is praised not only by main Vladivostok mythologist, Ilya Lagutenko. For example, it is mentioned by another known local musician, Ivan Panfilov, in the song "Lubimaya Maya" (my love), which is dedicated to the Toyota Celica. Moreover, Shamora even appears in the song "Plach" (cry) by the group Alisa, having nothing to do, it would seem, with Far Eastern toponymy: "A rolling stone, from Shamora to Moscow ..."

So it is not really surprising that Shamora is a song.

Come to Vladivostok!

We recommend

Beyond Vladivostok

Petrov Island

Petrov Island

A mysterious island with rich «human» history, places of power and yew tree grove.

SHTYKOVSKIE PONDS

SHTYKOVSKIE PONDS

This recreation park will delight with its variety of wooden architecture, clean air and the opportunity to feel like a talented craftsman.

Diving in Primorye

Diving in Primorye

The Sea of Japan does not immediately give one-touch portraits of its beauty and its inhabitants. It does so slowly and unhurriedly, each time beckoning.

Шамора

Наш Лазурный берег

Слушающей России это слово стало известно с выходом в 1998 году альбома «Мумий Тролля» под названием «Шамора»; непосвящённые делали ударение на второй слог и не очень понимали, о чём речь. Во Владивостоке делают ударение на «ша». Шамора здесь — любимое место отдыха.

Строго говоря, Шамора — небольшая бухта Уссурийского залива примерно в 30 км от Владивостока, официально зовущаяся Лазурной. Её старое название убрали с карт в ходе кампании 1972 года по избавлению Приморья от китайских и вообще нерусских названий — своего рода филологические отголоски боёв 1969 года на острове Даманском. Однако даже 40 с лишним лет спустя Лазурной эту бухту называют только в официальных документах. В народе она — по-прежнему Шамора.

Считается, что слово «Шамора» означает «песчаная пустыня». Песка там действительно много, но на пустыню в летний период Шамора похожа меньше всего. Пляж наполнен отдыхающими, машинами, кафе (знаменитое «У Грачика» и многие другие). Здесь летают на самолётах и дельтапланах, прыгают на батутах, занимаются виндсёрфингом.

Бухта, не замерзающая зимой, полуоткрыта Японскому морю, из-за чего на Шаморе не редкость — серьёзный океанский «накат». Здесь проводился фестиваль «Приморские струны», впоследствии — «ШамRock».

Зимой Шамора — почти пустая, но совсем рядом действует база зимнего отдыха «Комета». Для любителей истории в лесу спрятана «землянка Сергея Лазо», когда-то скрывавшегося здесь от белогвардейцев и японцев.

Шамора воспета не только главным владивостокским мифологом Ильёй Лагутенко. Так, её упоминает другой известный здешний музыкант Иван Панфилов в песне «Любимая моя», посвящённой машине Toyota Celica. Более того, Шамора попала даже в композицию «Плач» группы «Алиса», вроде бы далёкой от дальневосточной топонимики: «Перекати-поле с Шаморы на Москву…».

Оно и неудивительно: Шамора — это песня.

Приезжайте во Владивосток!

Мы рекомендуем

За городом

Гостиничный комплекс «Тёплое море»

Гостиничный комплекс «Тёплое море»

Здесь, вдали от городского шума, на самом юге Приморского края можно круглый год наслаждаться теплой океанской водой. Размещение от 4 000 рублей в сутки за номер класса «Стандарт» до 29 000 рублей за коттедж на 8 человек.

Штыковские пруды

Штыковские пруды

Парк отдыха порадует разнообразием форм деревянной архитектуры, чистым воздухом и возможностью почувствовать себя талантливым ремесленником.

Дальневосточный морской заповедник

Дальневосточный морской заповедник

«Блуждающие камни», безлюдные пляжи и другие «райские» прелести.