Secret places

where the locals go

  • Photo: Aleksey Zaitsev (Look at Vladivostok)
  • Text: Evgeny Pozdeev

Every city has its secret haunts, which are known and loved by the locals. Today we tell you about the places that have their own ambiance and are not to be missed if you visit Vladivostok.

"MILIY DRUG" SECOND-HAND STORE

14 Admirala Fokina Str.

Old clothing is laid out practically on the ruins of Fokina Street, given away by their owners to good hands at bargain prices. It used to be that Miliy Drug had a lot of goods fr om South Korea, which the owner brought in herself. Now it is a factory of vintage dreams and a fashion mongers paradise. And, true, it is also a useful place for one with more mundane goals.

Although the items have been worn, they are still quite nice. This is scrupulously attended to by the merchandise expert. The store occupies three rooms, and a huge sign hangs outside with the inscription «Second-Hand Store." But those who know continue to refer to the second-hand store as «Miliy Drug." A fur coat for 800, a hat for 50, and shoes for 200 rubles: you’ve come to the right place!

AJAKS creative hall

Russkiy island, FEFU campus, Building "A"

It is a cultural and exhibition hall, and includes zones for coworking, exhibition and lecture-multimedia. It is the work of the university’s Commonwealth of Youth Functionaries and Art Managers.

Despite the fact that the creators of Ajaks consider it to be an ideal place for students to study and work, it is open to all. You only need to be issued a one-time pass at the campus entrance, which requires a passport. It is best to do this before 18:00 on weekdays, when live security is still on campus.

Overall, it is a pleasant and relaxing place on the way to the beautiful waterfront campus, where in summer you can rent a bike or rollerskates. And, on the way back from Ajaks, you can recharge and have a few cups of tea or coffee with some pastries. Following the schedule, there are regularly held lectures, meetings and concerts. You can reach FEFU campus by buses  15, 29д, 74, 75, 76, 77э.

BAR WITH A CINEMA DOWNTOWN PROJECT

4 Pogranichnaya Str.

If you are tired of over-refined interiors and faces, this is the place for you. The bar is located literally in one of the backstreets of Vladivostok’s historic center. Without a sign, lighting or other traditional indicators.

You press the bell and wait patiently for the door to be opened, looking around in trembling anticipation of the sudden appearance of a back-alley denizen. It is not much brighter inside than outside, but there is a cinema, a hookah and cocktails. The cocktails here, by the way, are lovely, and you can choose the movie yourself from an extensive collection. In addition to films there are hundreds of video clips, live concerts and standup comedians from around the world.

If you want to melt into one of the sofas in the dark cinema hall, go into a mini-den with a blanket and you will not be seen for a long time. If you’re lucky, you’ll get to see a live performance by the jazzy hipster group DowntownBand.

CONTRABAND VINYL RECORD SHOP

12a Aleutskaya Str.

Vladivostok’s vinyl jungle. It is one of the city’s most atmospheric places, wh ere records are sold, along with anything that helps them rotate and extract a pure sound. Here you can find rare Japanese editions.

And the store is happy to have any visitor, from regular customers to those who just came in to hear a song from their favorite performer. The staff is always open to an endless heart-to-heart.

There is a small bar with completely legal drinks inside Contraband. Here there are often performances by local bands, poetry readings and more.

"STARYI BYT" ANTIQUE SHOP

22B Borisenko Str.

The shop can be reached by antique transport: the tram (tram  6 departing from «Lugovaya» stop), which in spite of everything, continues to run on some of Vladivostok’s streets. On one of these you’ll find this mecca for collectors and enthusiasts of old utensils, including some from the days of the USSR.

The store’s assortment is periodically replenished, not only from the private collections of ordinary citizens, but rare specimens are regularly brought back from regular pilgrimages to both of Russia’s largest cities.

But most importantly, here you will find a lot of things related to Vladivostok and the sea.

Come to Vladivostok!

We recommend

Tourist Attractions

Sport and recreation complex PrimRing

Sport and recreation complex PrimRing

The PrimRing Complex simply must be seen to appreciate. And if you come at the right season there will be drifting!

Primorskiy State Picture Gallery

Primorskiy State Picture Gallery

Masterpieces of world class fine art and pearls with a local hue.

Boat Tours

Boat Tours

Vladivostok in the Eyes of Explorers and Sailors.

СЕКРЕТНЫЕ МЕСТА

КУДА ХОДЯТ САМИ ВЛАДИВОСТОКЦЫ

  • Фото: Алексей Зайцев
  • Текст: Евгений Поздеев

У каждого города есть свои секретные «пароли и явки», которые знают и любят местные жители. Сегодня мы расскажем о тех местах, которые обладают своей атмосферой и которые нельзя пропустить, если вы приехали во Владивосток.

КОМИССИОННЫЙ МАГАЗИН «МИЛЫЙ ДРУГ»

ул. Адмирала Фокина, 14

Практически на развалинах улицы Фокина раскинулись развалы одежды, отданной хозяевами в добрые руки по бросовым ценам. Раньше в «Милом друге» было много товаров из Южной Кореи, которые самостоятельно привозила хозяйка. Теперь здесь фабрика винтажных грез и рай для «фрикомодников». Правда и для более приземленных целей тоже найдется место.

Вещи хоть и поношенные, но вполне себе сносного вида. За этим строго следит человек с уже винтажной по нашим временам профессией — товаровед. Магазин занимает три зала, на уличной вывеске огромная надпись «Комиссионный магазин». Но те, кто в теме, продолжают величать комиссионку «Милым другом». Шубу за 800, шляпу за 50, а туфли за 200 рублей — вы попали туда, куда нужно!

ТВОРЧЕСКОЕ ПРОСТРАНСТВО «АЯКС»

о. Русский, кампус ДВФУ, корпус А

Культурно-выставочное пространство, включающее в себя коворкинг, выставочную и лекционно-мультмедийную зоны. Плод содружества молодежных функционеров университета и арт-менеджеров.

Несмотря на то, что часть создателей «Аякса» считают его идеальным местом для учебы и работы студентов, открыт он для всех горожан. Необходимо только оформить разовый пропуск при входе в кампус, для чего потребуется паспорт. Сделать это лучше до 18:00 в будние дни, охрана в кампусе настоящая, а не анимационная.

В целом, приятное и расслабляющее место по пути на прекрасную набережную кампуса, где в летнее время можно взять напрокат велосипед или ролики. Кстати, на обратной дороге в «Аяксе» можно подкрепиться и пропустить пару стаканчиков чая или кофе с пирогами. Следите за расписанием, здесь постоянно проходят лекции, встречи и концерты. До кампуса ДВФУ можно добраться автобусами № 15, 29д, 74, 75, 76, 77э.

БАР С КИНОЗАЛОМ «DOWNTOWN PROJECT»

ул. Пограничная, 4

Если вы устали от рафинированных интерьеров и лиц, вам сюда. Бар находится буквально в одной из подворотен исторического центра Владивостока. Без вывесок, подсветки и прочей традиционной навигации.

Нажимаете на кнопку звонка и терпеливо ждете, пока вам откроют, озираясь по сторонам в трепетном ожидании внезапного появления завсегдатаев местных трущоб. Внутри не намного светлее, чем снаружи, зато есть кино, кальян и коктейли. Коктейли здесь, к слову сказать, славные, а кино для себя можно заказать из обширной кинотеки. Кроме фильмов есть море видеоклипов, живых концертов и стэндапов мировых комиков.

Если же хочется раствориться в темноте кинозала, приняв форму одного из диванчиков, берите мини-курильню и плед, и вас еще долго никто не увидит. Если повезет, можно попасть на живое выступление приджазованно-хипстерской группы DowntownBand.

МАГАЗИН ВИНИЛОВЫХ ПЛАСТИНОК «КОНТРАБАНДА»

ул. Алеутская, 12А

Виниловые джунгли Владивостока. Одно из самых атмосферных мест города, где продаются пластинки и все, что помогает их вращать и извлекать чистый звук. Встречаются раритетные японские издания.

Здесь рады любому посетителю — и постоянным покупателям, и тем, кто просто зашел послушать песни любимых исполнителей. Ребята всегда открыты для душевного общения о вечном.

В «Контрабанде» работает небольшой бар с вполне легальными напитками. Зачастую здесь проходят выступления местных групп, поэтические чтения и многое другое.

АНТИКВАРНЫЙ МАГАЗИН «СТАРЫЙ БЫТ»

ул. Борисенко, 22В

До магазина можно доехать на транспортном антиквариате — трамвае (трамвай № 6 от остановки «Луговая»), который вопреки всему продолжает движение по некоторым улицам Владивостока. На одной из таких и расположилась мекка для коллекционеров и любителей старинной утвари, в том числе и периода СССР.

Хозяева периодически пополняют ассортимент магазина не только из частных коллекций сограждан, но и привозят редкие экземпляры из регулярного паломничества в обе российские столицы.

Самое главное — здесь вы точно найдете массу вещей, связанных с Владивостоком и морской тематикой. Так что в следующий свой приезд вопрос «Быт или не Быт» останется за бортом.

Приезжайте во Владивосток!

Мы рекомендуем

Местный колорит

Старый дворик ГУМа

Старый дворик ГУМа

Хлеб и зрелища во дворике одного из самых красивых исторических зданий Владивостока, где дух «порто-франко» встречается с творческой энергией городской молодёжи.

Зимовка орланов

Зимовка орланов

Зимой во Владивостоке можно наблюдать за орланами в самом центре города — эти величественные птицы добывают себе пропитание в незамерзающих водах бухты Золотой Рог.

Ледовый полумарафон "Vladivostok Ice Run"

Ледовый полумарафон "Vladivostok Ice Run"

Приехать во Владивосток, чтобы пробежать по воде.