Synchronize Clocks

The Noon Cannon Shot

  • Photo: Aleksey Zaitsev (Look at Vladivostok)
  • Text: Vasiliy Avchenko

In 2016, a glorious naval military tradition returned to Vladivostok – the daily cannon shot.

In St. Petersburg, where this custom was put in place in 1704, the shot was made from one of the bastions of Peter and Paul fortress. The history of the midday shot in Vladivostok originates in the 19th century. After a long break, the tradition returned in 1970: the shot was fired from a 100-mm cannon on “Tiger Hill.” In 1996, the cannon, which had become one of the symbols of the city, was silenced. Then museum "Vladivostok Fortress" picked up the baton and since 1997 the shot was delivered from a 45-millimeter signaling cannon on the territory of the battery "With No Name." In 2008, the shots stopped again: very few of the necessary type of charges were produced, and the little museum lacked sufficient means to purchase them. After that, the cannon sounded only on holidays.

Concerned citizens gathered signatures and petitioned various authorities in defense of the tradition. Vladivostok, after all, was founded in 1860 as a military post, and remains today as the main base of Russia’s Pacific Fleet. In 2010, it received the status “City of Military Glory.” The forts and batteries of Vladivostok Fortress, despite having lost their defensive significance, are a unique feature of the city and continue to be popular tourist and sightseeing destinations.

Ultimately, it was decided to restore the tradition, and on June 12, 2016 – Russia Day – they fired the first shot.

The initiative, headed by the public figure Konstantin Bogdanenko, gathered more than 17,000 signatures in support of restoring the tradition.

Now the daily artillery salute is given at noon from a 122-millimeter howitzer on pier 33 located in the heart of Vladivostok on the Ship Embankment. Large anti-submarine ships of the Pacific Fleet are "assigned" to this wharf.

The cannon is not only an opportunity to synchronize watches. It is a touch of history and Vladivostok’s calling card - not just a free port, but also a naval fortress.

Come to Vladivostok!

We recommend

Tourist Attractions

Boat Tours

Boat Tours

Vladivostok in the Eyes of Explorers and Sailors.

WINTER FISHING

WINTER FISHING

The main winter catch in Vladivostok is smelt, which becomes a hundred times tastier if you catch it yourself.

Vladivostok Funicular

Vladivostok Funicular

This charming little cable car is a tourists’ all-time favorite in Vladivostok.

Сверить часы

Полуденный выстрел из пушки

  • Фото: Алексей Зайцев
  • Текст: Василий Авченко

В 2016 году во Владивосток вернулась славная военно-морская традиция — ежедневный выстрел из пушки.

В Санкт-Петербурге, где этот обычай заложили ещё в 1704 году, выстрел производится с одного из бастионов Петропавловской крепости. История полуденного выстрела во Владивостоке берёт начало в XIX веке. После долгого перерыва традиция вернулась в 1970 году: выстрел производило 100-миллиметровое орудие на сопке Тигровой. В 1996 году пушка, успевшая стать одним из символов города, замолчала. Эстафету подхватил музей «Владивостокская крепость»: с 1997 года выстрел давали из 45-миллиметровой сигнальной пушки на территории батареи «Безымянная». В 2008 году выстрелы вновь прекратились: зарядов нужного образца выпускается мало, музей не располагает средствами для их приобретения. С тех пор пушечный выстрел звучал только по праздникам.

Неравнодушные горожане собирали подписи в защиту традиции, обращались в различные инстанции. Ведь Владивосток, основанный в 1860 году как военный пост, и сегодня остаётся главной базой Тихоокеанского флота. В 2010 году он получил статус Города воинской славы. Форты и батареи Владивостокской крепости, хотя и утратили своё оборонное значение, остаются уникальной чертой города и популярными у туристов объектами.

В итоге обычай было решено восстановить и произвести первый выстрел 12 июня 2016 года — в День России.

Инициативная группа во главе с общественным деятелем Константином Богданенко собрала более 17 тысяч подписей за восстановление традиции.

Теперь ежедневный артиллерийский салют будут давать ровно в полдень из 122-миллиметровой гаубицы с 33-го причала, расположенного в самом центре Владивостока, на Корабельной набережной. На этом причале «прописаны» большие противолодочные корабли Тихоокеанского флота.

Выстрел из пушки — не только возможность сверить часы. Это прикосновение к истории и визитная карточка Владивостока — не только свободного порта, но и военно-морской крепости.

Приезжайте во Владивосток!

Мы рекомендуем

Местный колорит

Лайнеры-гиганты

Лайнеры-гиганты

Полюбоваться многопалубным лайнером на расстоянии вытянутой руки можно во Владивостоке — одном из немногих российских портов, где швартуются круизные суда на морском вокзале прямо в центре города.

Пляжи Владивостока

Пляжи Владивостока

Моря во Владивостоке много, как и пляжей, куда можно отправиться отдыхать в летние солнечные дни. В черте города находится несколько мест, до них несложно добраться — автобусом, на электричке или машине.

Фестиваль V-ROX

Фестиваль V-ROX

Праздник музыки и творческого общения, открывающий миру новые имена.