KIMCHI, THE KOREAN NATIONAL DISH

  • Text: Andrey Kalachinskiy

One can not say that life in Vladivostok is bland: it is highlighted with rainbow Korean kimchi. If you are visiting the city for the first time, you will be served this Korean side dish in some form: carrot, fern shoots, garlic slivers, eggplant, radish, squid, and herring.

All stare at you with some sort of anticipatory joyous pleasure, and you feel as if there must be some kind of trick. Timidly, you poke the yellow strips of carrot with your fork. "Mm-m, no, not dangerous." The combination of vinegar, sugar and garlic give the boring carrots a spicy taste. Dark green fern shoots seem at once soft, crunchy, and fibrous. Slivers of garlic surprise with their sweet, starchy taste and absence of anything garlicky. When you get to the herring you lean over bravely and ask the silly question: "Did you preserve the fish yourself?"

The answer amazes you. "It's fresh". Your fork hangs in the air and you stare at the gleaming, pearly piece of fish, wondering how you might manage to inadvertently "not" put it in your mouth.

— Don't tell me you've never eaten "hyo"?
— Eaten what?

"Hyo". Ok, if it makes more sense to you in Spanish, then "ceviche". Marinated fish. Only the Spanish marinate the fish in lemon or lime juice, and the Koreans in vinegar.

The world of Korean food in Vladivostok is unlimited and amazes not only the citizens of mainland Russia, but also the citizens of the Republic of South Korea, or the loyal citizens of the Democratic Peoples Republic of Korea. It is certainly something to witness the Korean tourists freeze when they see the Russian Korean food stalls and begin arguing dumbfoundedly with each other. The Russian Koreans look on with a condescending smile. The cuisine of Russian Koreans broke away from the mother continent a hundred years ago, and like the Russians, generations of Vladivostok Koreans take a sip of vodka, and then a bite of a spicy carrot, along with a taste of pickled white cabbage.

Hyo and kimchi liven the table of a Primorye native. Yes, and friends from Sakhalin ordered: burdock stems, seaweed with bubbles "sea grapes", and goodness only knows what else, those Sakhalin Koreans do all kinds of things.

As soon as Samsung refrigerators and Kia automobiles conquered the world, Koreans then offered kimchi through the open door and insisted that this fermented cabbage with chili peppers be respected by all the world.

It is worth noting that kimchi is a general name for all fermented-salted-marinated Korean-style appetizers, not just cabbage.

A pedantic Korean housewife transforms everything into kimchi: any vegetables, fish, squid, octopus, mussels, soy-meat, etc., Navak kimchi (winter kimchi), kat kimchi (mustard leaf kimchi), yelmu kimchi (young radish kimchi), ou sobagi (cucumber kimchi), pxa kimchi (leek kimchi).

When at the Vladivostok markets, boldly take all you wish from the Korean stalls. But only a little bit, a pinch, so you do not overeat and it does not become a habit. Otherwise, how will you be able to live without pickled eggplants, marinated radishes, tiny salt-dried fish in sweet crimson sesame-soy-pepper paste?

Come to Vladivostok!

We recommend

Asian cuisine

Chinese Cafes in Vladivostok

Chinese Cafes in Vladivostok

"Meet me in Chifanka"! Going out to a Chinese place is a special tradition in Vladivostok.

Chinese Restaurants

Chinese Restaurants

For those whose soul needs a celebration as well as Chinese food. A no less important bonus – here it’s possible to bring your own alcohol.

Japanese cuisine

Japanese cuisine

Vladivostok, with its gastronomic diversity, is known for a multitude of styles of Japanese cuisine, which is why you need to know the “right” place to go!

Корейские закуски кимчи

  • Текст: Андрей Калачинский

Нельзя сказать, что жизнь во Владивостоке пресная еще и потому, что она подсвечена радугой корейских «кимчи». Если вы впервые в городе, то к столу подадут корейские закуски: морковку, папоротник-орляк, стрелки чеснока, баклажаны, редьку, кальмара, селедку.

Все на вас уставятся с каким-то предвкушаемым радостным удовольствием, и вы почувствуете какой-то подвох. Робко наколете на вилочку карминного цвета полоски моркови. «М-м-м, да нет, не отрава», — сочетание уксуса, сахара и чеснока придает пикантный вкус банальной морковке. Темно-зеленые побеги папоротника окажутся одновременно мягкими, хрустящими и волокнистыми. Стрелки чеснока удивят своим сладковато крахмальным привкусом и отсутствием всего чесночного. К селёдке вы уже потянитесь смело и непременно зададите глупый вопрос: «Сами солили»?

Ответ вас удивит. «Она свежая». Вилка повиснет в воздухе и вы уставитесь на перламутрово отсвечивающий кусочек, придумывая, как бы его пронести мимо рта, уронить, что ли?

— Вы, что «хё» никогда не ели?
— Что?

«Хё». Ну, если хотите по-испански, то — «севиче». Маринованная рыба. Только испаноговорящие маринуют в соке лимона или лайма, а корейцы — в уксусе.

Мир корейских закусок во Владивостоке — безграничен и поразит не только жителя континентальной России, но и настоящего жителя Республики Южная Корея или верного гражданина КНДР. Надо видеть, как корейские туристы застывают у лотков с закусками русских корейцев и ошарашенно спорят друг с другом. Наши смотрят на них со снисходительной улыбкой. Кухня русских корейцев сто лет назад откололась от материнского материка и поколения владивостокцев давно закусывают водочку «остренькой морковкой» наряду с квашенной белокочанной капустой.

«Хё» и «кимчи» — вот чем оживляет свой стол приморский абориген. Да еще заказывают друзьям с Сахалина: стебли лопуха, водоросль с пузырьками «морской виноград» и еще черт знает что, что делают только сахалинские корейцы.

Как только холодильники «Самсунг» и автомобили «Киа» завоевали мир, корейцы просунули в открытую дверь кимчи и настаивают, чтобы эта квашенная с перцем чили листовая капуста тоже уважалась всем миром.

Стоит отметить, что «кимчи» — это общее название всех квашено-солено-маринованных закусок в корейском стиле, а не только капусты.

В «кимчи» педантичная корейская хозяйка превратит всё, на что упадет её взгляд: любые овощи, рыбу, кальмара-осьминога-ракушки, соевое мясо и т. д. Набак кимчи (зимние кимчи), кат кимчи (кимчи из листьев горчицы), ёльму кимчи (кимчи из молодого редиса), ои собаги (кимчи из огурцов), пха кимчи (кимчи из лука-порея).

Подойдя к корейским лоткам на владивостокских рынках, смело берите всё, что захотите. Но по чуть-чуть, по одной щепотке, чтобы и не наесться, и не привыкнуть. Иначе, как вы потом сможете дальше жить без квашенных баклажанчиков, маринованной редьки и крохотной соленой-сушеной рыбки в сладко-кунжутно-соевой-перечной пасте малинового цвета?

Приезжайте во Владивосток!

Мы рекомендуем

Дальневосточная кухня

Кафе Novik Country Club

Кафе Novik Country Club

Сезонное меню, устрицы и гребешки, дичь, зелень и овощи из собственной теплицы. А еще море, которое в двух шагах!

Ресторан «Семь футов»

Ресторан «Семь футов»

Яхтенное сердце Владивостока, место идеальных закатов и свежих морепродуктов.

Паровые пирожки «пян-се»

Паровые пирожки «пян-се»

Самый популярный владивостокский уличный фастфуд, как ни удивительно, относится к рациону здорового питания.